Too much for rent on a pool hall/bar

#Cruncher

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
My better half and I have been seriously considering opening up a pool hall/bar next year.

We have been casually looking for spots in our metro area of about 1 million people.

We were at a mini-mall and the biggest store was for lease. Looking through, the glass, I fell in love with the spot. 10,000 sq. ft. wide open. Nice building.

I got home and looked up the property online. My fears came true. A place this size and the fact that it was a nice building in a decent area meant that the rent would be about 2,000/week. :(

This place could easily fit 20 to 25 tables with a nice bar setup, but I don't know if that rent is a feasible nut to cover.

We might have to start smaller or in a more reasonably priced area. Any expert owners with similar dilemas on rent costs?

Thanks.

premiumbilliard

Registered
I'm no expert but I do have a 2 businesses in 2 states. I own my building in one state and in the other state I rent. In the state I rent, for the size of the space I have, 8000 square feet, I pay less rent than the taxes would be on a building of that size if I owned it.
I know it feels good to say "I own this place", but it is not always the right thing to do.
Whatever you do, keep the rent low. Now is the time you can haggle with property owners. Have a look at how many months the spaces have been empty. Months empty=lots of incentives to move in. Also make sure you put an escape clause in their so you are not left personally responsible for 5 years rent @ $8,000 a month when you are out of business. That could literally ruin your life.