Grip too loose?

MagicMcNamara

Registered
So I’ve been playing for about 8 years. I’m noticing in the past year my grip has been allowing the cue to slide through my hand every single shot I play. And now that I’ve switched from leather to linen it’s much more noticeable to me. I feel like when I try to do the “v grip” it’s way too tight for me. So I’m just looking for some help on what I should do. I’ve been analyzing Shane Van Boening, Jayson Shaw, Darren Appleton and none of them let the cue slip through ever. I’ll attach pictures of my grip. There’s always light between my webbing and the butt, and I always let the cue go on the follow through.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/LRwUFknhNrtv8Rbf6

https://photos.app.goo.gl/TDhzQ56pMQanBM7h8

https://photos.app.goo.gl/9TyC8eJWfPtbqKDd8

Bob Jewett

AZB Osmium Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Silver Member
So I’ve been playing for about 8 years. I’m noticing in the past year my grip has been allowing the cue to slide through my hand every single shot I play. And now that I’ve switched from leather to linen it’s much more noticeable to me. I feel like when I try to do the “v grip” it’s way too tight for me. So I’m just looking for some help on what I should do. I’ve been analyzing Shane Van Boening, Jayson Shaw, Darren Appleton and none of them let the cue slip through ever. I’ll attach pictures of my grip. There’s always light between my webbing and the butt, and I always let the cue go on the follow through.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/LRwUFknhNrtv8Rbf6

https://photos.app.goo.gl/TDhzQ56pMQanBM7h8

https://photos.app.goo.gl/9TyC8eJWfPtbqKDd8

It shouldn't slip, ever. I recommend no daylight. Linen is a lousy material for a wrap. Leather can also be slippery in dry weather. If you will not close your grip, get a rubber grip like the carom players use.

Dan White

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member