International rules for 8 ball break
Old
  (#1)
11am
AzB Bronze Member
11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute11am has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jan 2012
   
International rules for 8 ball break - Yesterday, 05:53 PM

I was playing with a friend who elected to use international break rules in our 8 ball game. The ruling states that upon breaking,at least four balls must reach a rail beyond mid table, and if any balls are pocketed, the table is still OPEN until the NEXT ball of choice is pocketed. I asked a hypothetical question, having never played with this format before, but i had seen it used from time to time in sanctioned pro tour play. IF you are not allowed to declare a suit, low or high,after pocketing both, but must declare by pocketing the next shot ONLY, then what happens in the highly unlikely, yet possible event of pocketing, for example, 7 low balls on the break, and the cue rests in a position to easily pocket the 8? Under this ruling, I would I be forced to shoot the only remaining balls (the high) and my opponent gets rewarded with the 7 lows I miraculously pocketed on the break, there by punishing the player who achieved an incredible break? This question arouse because I had pocketed 3 low balls and no high balls, on my break, and the cue came to rest in an unplayable, hooked position? He then took the low balls on the next shot.What is the actual ruling in this situation. A player should ALWAYS be rewarded for pocketed balls on a break, as the break is critical in higher caliber play, where no push out is allowed. I understand that the only option in this situation is to play a safety. Just curious
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,915
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
Yesterday, 07:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11am View Post
... I asked a hypothetical question, ...
The most recent thread other than this one had a fairly long discussion of the very remote chance of all balls of a group being gone before groups are chosen.

Here it is in case your default listing doesn't go back far enough:
https://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=493296


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.