Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Snooker
Reload this Page Controversial situations and rulings
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Controversial situations and rulings
Old
  (#1)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,911
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
Controversial situations and rulings - 07-29-2019, 11:59 AM

Here is an interesting collection of "difficult times" in snooker matches. I've been a snooker referee and it's not always fun.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...NA2FYMsMnQ7-XQ


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
pt109
WO double hemlock

pt109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond repute
 
pt109's Avatar
 
Status: Online
Posts: 28,167
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: out of country but incontinent
   
08-07-2019, 07:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
Here is an interesting collection of "difficult times" in snooker matches. I've been a snooker referee and it's not always fun.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...NA2FYMsMnQ7-XQ
I watched some of the first part....I thought Ronnie was being a bit ignorant....
...he wants the ref to stay out of his way...even if the ref has to spot a ball....
...Iíve played refereed matches...it is my duty to stay out of the refís way in those cases.


Lionize your game.
http://www.alexpagulayan.com/

MAGIC CHALK call Marco Polo 647-287-8131

If pool players had to have knowledge of geometry and physics before talking about geometry and physics, all of the aiming threads would disappear.

Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,911
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
09-04-2019, 07:34 PM

Here is a situation in which neither player seems to know the rules.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xQfjvyJlNY

Spoiler!!! Spoiler!!

The first rule was about snookering behind a free ball. The second was the definition of a snooker.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
alphadog
AzB Silver Member
alphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond repute
 
alphadog's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,583
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2007
   
09-05-2019, 07:35 PM

Odd situation. Higgins wanted the free ball and he was entitled to it.


A bull without horns is still dangerous.

Law of logical arguement-Anything is possible when you dont know what you are talking about.

  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
pt109
WO double hemlock

pt109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond reputept109 has a reputation beyond repute
 
pt109's Avatar
 
Status: Online
Posts: 28,167
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: out of country but incontinent
   
09-06-2019, 08:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphadog View Post
Odd situation. Higgins wanted the free ball and he was entitled to it.
Seemed to me that Higgins was sticking up for the kid and didnít think he had a free ball.
Youíd think a multiple times world champion would know the definition of a snooker.
...in this case you must be able to cut a ball maximum.

But whatís more amazing is that a 15 year old kid had Higgins on the ropes....
...17 points up, shooting a free ball ball, and 4-3 up in games.
It should be illegal to play that good before you can shave....


Lionize your game.
http://www.alexpagulayan.com/

MAGIC CHALK call Marco Polo 647-287-8131

If pool players had to have knowledge of geometry and physics before talking about geometry and physics, all of the aiming threads would disappear.

Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,911
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
11-04-2019, 06:48 PM

Here is an interesting loss-of-frame foul. I think that the referee did nothing wrong. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pr6_kzHSjM


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,911
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
11-11-2019, 10:53 AM

The first frame of the 2019 Champion of Champions had an interesting situation.

https://youtu.be/9B-tEQrUb-s?t=1223 (Starts at 20:23)

Trump gets a very tight snooker on Robertson and after a very tough cushion-first, 3-cushion-first, and a cushion-first half-masse by Robertson, the referee does not call a miss on Robertson. In my view a miss should have been called. The first shot he played could have hit the ball if played at speed.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,911
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
11-12-2019, 09:24 PM

Near the start of frame 6 of this match the ref makes a mistake on the break count on the second red and later makes an overcorrection. The scorer fixes things up at the end of Cahill's break.

https://youtu.be/gZ9N7WX7eS8?t=5231

I don't recall seeing a ref make a count error before. I assume the ref can see the scoreboard and the scorer keeps track.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.