triangle
Old
  (#1)
Danny Harriman
Banned
Danny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 824
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: May 2008
   
triangle - 11-30-2018, 02:19 PM

i learned when competing it might be a good idea to not use any other triangle than the one used to draw or trace the rack line while racking. Reason being - if you allow your opponent to use a larger triangle (than the one used to trace the rack line) they can manipulate racking either high or low - depending on the breakshot. This is a moove' that is overlooked sometimes I think.
  
Reply With Quote

wow
Old
  (#2)
oldroller
AzB Silver Member
oldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond reputeoldroller has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 589
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2004
   
wow - 11-30-2018, 05:00 PM

thats good to know
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SlateMate
Banned
SlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond reputeSlateMate has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 197
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Oct 2018
   
12-01-2018, 05:38 PM

are you speaking from experience?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 175
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2018
   
12-02-2018, 04:34 PM

I had always assumed the pencil line was merely a guide, not an official designation? If your opponent is racking, and wants to claim your breakball interferes, I don’t see any recourse for you, regardless of what triangle is being used (aside from selecting a breakball further from the rack in future, or maybe changing opponents)?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Island Drive
AzB Silver Member
Island Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond repute
 
Island Drive's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7,368
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado
   
12-02-2018, 07:08 PM

In 14.1 pro events yes a perimeter line is a must because of the break shot, but not in rotation pool.


www.worldbilliardtour.com
Domain Name Only....

Bill Meacham
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15,122
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
12-03-2018, 03:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynoDan View Post
I had always assumed the pencil line was merely a guide, not an official designation? If your opponent is racking, and wants to claim your breakball interferes, I donít see any recourse for you, regardless of what triangle is being used (aside from selecting a breakball further from the rack in future, or maybe changing opponents)?
The line says whether a ball is in/out of the triangle. It is possible to get a third party to judge that if your opponent has an opinion different from yours.

It is possible for a ball to be outside the triangle but still interfere with racking. In that case the break ball should be marked, removed, and replaced after the balls are racked.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Island Drive
AzB Silver Member
Island Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond reputeIsland Drive has a reputation beyond repute
 
Island Drive's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7,368
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado
   
12-03-2018, 05:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
The line says whether a ball is in/out of the triangle. It is possible to get a third party to judge that if your opponent has an opinion different from yours.

It is possible for a ball to be outside the triangle but still interfere with racking. In that case the break ball should be marked, removed, and replaced after the balls are racked.



Bob that makes allot of sense, tho I've never seen that implemented in match play during the Mizerak years, Janscos and the collegiate level.

What you said, can that be found in a rule book some where?


www.worldbilliardtour.com
Domain Name Only....

Bill Meacham
  
Reply With Quote
Hard as a diamond
Old
  (#8)
Danny Harriman
Banned
Danny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 824
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: May 2008
   
Hard as a diamond - 12-11-2018, 03:51 PM

the Diamond table is a superb choice to practice or play on, the rack is thicker than average triangle and will cost the player space when using it for a straight pool. Everything I post is me posting' from actually livin' it. I would not suggest allowing opponent to use a different triangle than the one originally drawn with pencil or tailor's chalk. Good day.

Last edited by Danny Harriman; 12-11-2018 at 03:54 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ChrisinNC
AzB Silver Member
ChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,768
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Boone, NC
   
12-13-2018, 07:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Harriman View Post
the Diamond table is a superb choice to practice or play on, the rack is thicker than average triangle and will cost the player space when using it for a straight pool. Everything I post is me posting' from actually livin' it. I would not suggest allowing opponent to use a different triangle than the one originally drawn with pencil or tailor's chalk. Good day.
Danny, you are correct. The Diamond rack is not ideal to use for 14.1, since it is so thick not only on the sides (3/4") but on all 3 points as well - where it extends 1-1/2" beyond the outside edge of the point balls. A thinner rack like a black beauty would be far preferred. Magic 15-ball racks would be ideal, if it weren't for not being able to get the template off the table after the opening break, as it certainly affects the roll of the balls when it's left in place during play.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
mikemosconi
AzB Silver Member
mikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond reputemikemosconi has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 320
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Naples, FL.
   
12-15-2018, 02:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Harriman View Post
i learned when competing it might be a good idea to not use any other triangle than the one used to draw or trace the rack line while racking. Reason being - if you allow your opponent to use a larger triangle (than the one used to trace the rack line) they can manipulate racking either high or low - depending on the breakshot. This is a moove' that is overlooked sometimes I think.
I do not understand your post- if there are rack lines on the table- THEN the re-racked balls need to lie within the triangle drawn onto the table- it is that simple- if you see any of the balls lying outside the rack lines already drawn on the table- you do not proceed with your breakshot- you just have the balls re-racked properly first.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
john coloccia
AzB Silver Member
john coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond reputejohn coloccia has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,065
vCash: 500
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
12-15-2018, 04:33 AM

from the wpa rules:

The marked outline of the triangle will be used to determine whether an intended break ball is in the rack area.
...
...
A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15,122
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
12-15-2018, 07:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemosconi View Post
I do not understand your post- if there are rack lines on the table- THEN the re-racked balls need to lie within the triangle drawn onto the table- it is that simple- if you see any of the balls lying outside the rack lines already drawn on the table- you do not proceed with your breakshot- you just have the balls re-racked properly first.
No. That gives too much margin for ball placement. The triangle placement should match the drawn outline as closely as possible.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 175
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2018
   
12-15-2018, 08:38 AM

In actual 14.1 play, I have NEVER encountered a situation where a breakball was actually removed (position marked) and replaced. Golfers may do it all the time on the putting green, and while the official rules may dictate that procedure, most players (I believe) would rather shoot a breakshot from the headspot than any ball that close to the rack anyway (?). Expedient play usually dictates merely eliminating any breakball that interferes with racking, but, I have never played straight pool where the only available triangle was the oversized Diamond model, so the time may come yet where moving/replacing the ball is the only option.

Last edited by DynoDan; 12-15-2018 at 09:50 AM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15,122
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
12-15-2018, 09:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynoDan View Post
In actual 14.1 play, I have NEVER encountered a situation where a breakball was actually removed (position marked) and replaced. Golfers may do it all the time on the putting green, and while the official rules may dictate that procedure, most players (I believe) would rather shot a breakshot from the headspot than any ball that close to the rack anyway (?). Expedient play usually dictates merely eliminating any breakball that interferes with racking...
I think it is best to play by the rules.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 175
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2018
   
12-15-2018, 09:56 AM

It would be interesting to take a poll of all the players at any one time in even the most respected billiard hall, to see how many had actually ever read a rule book.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 4 1 23 Last »

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.