Any Lighting Experts on AZB?

rexus31

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'll be building a new light to match my Gold Crown 1 and I'm considering (2) 1'x4' LED panels as the light source (like the ones in the link below) instead of fluorescent fixtures.

https://www.build.com/litetronics-fp030uf150dl/s1401961?uid=3312162

In the light I previously built to match my old AMF table, I had 2 8' fluorescent fixtures with a total of 8 Philips Natural Light T8 bulbs rated at 5000K and 2750 Lumens. I'm not experienced with LED lighting and was hoping someone could steer me in the right direction. I'd like to achieve the same amount of light, same light color and temperature in an LED panel as the T8 bulbs I used previously. Do the Kelvens and Lumens match up one for one LED vs fluorescent? From what I've seen, LED lighting can much "brighter" and distort colors. I prefer a "natural" light. Will I get the same amount of light using (2) 1' x 4' panels as I did with (8) T8 fluorescent bulbs?

Rico

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have 3 2x2 led flat panels 3500 .GREAT LIGHTING. I used channeling for ceiling tiles for a frame .they fit end to end used white chain to match white frame. less than $200 invested.

slach

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I made a light from 3 2'x2' LED panels (Home Depot, Metalux 4200 lumen/4000k, $59 each), hanging 40" over a 9' table. Measuring the lux values with a free light meter app on my iPhone I get 1000 in center of table, 700 at side pockets and 550 at corner pockets. Lighting very comfortable for me - bright, but not too bright and nice, natural looking 'color'. Lights up mostly the table without lighting up the whole room so you get an 'arena' type effect. Worked out pretty good, I'm happy.

Bob Jewett

AZB Osmium Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Silver Member