The Hustler / What age? Influence?

Michael Andros

tiny balls, GIANT pockets
Silver Member
How old were you the first time you saw The Hustler? Had you begun playing yet? Started because you saw it? ( If you HAVEN'T seen it, stop reading this, right now, and go see it. Now. No matter how far you gotta go, even if it's playing at some "art" theater in Shanghai. It's THAT important )

For me, I started playing summer going into first grade, bowling alley. Didn't see the film til probably 13 or so... It was a perfect storm of influence at the time; first began going in the pool room, first gambling, first realizing I had INSATIABLE hunger to learn everything possible abut the game. And the old man who owned the room when I first was in, Tony Proestus, introduced me the the movie. ( "Pay attention." ) It all took off from there...

"I don't rattle, kid. But just for that I'm gonna beat you flat. "

sjm

Older and Wiser
Silver Member
I didn't see "The Hustler" until I was 18, in 1976. I was hanging around a poolroom once a week by 1966, but didn't start playing until 1969.

I saw "The Hustler" as a movie in which pool was just the backdrop for some of the ebbs and flows of life, Fast Eddie encountered and/or exhibited pride, bravado, love, sacrifice, deception, physical abuse, loyalty, disloyalty, heartbreak and more. His soul searching journey in which he had to reexamine his entire value system was the reason the movie still endures today, for people still relate to it on this level and always will.

I enjoyed "The Hustler" even more because it featured pool, Willie Mosconi and Jackie Gleason, but I think to view it as a pool movie only is to fail to give it its due respect.

I wouldn't say it made me more or less passionate about pool.

ShootingArts

Smorg is giving St Peter the 7!
Gold Member
Silver Member
just a cool movie