Advise on a full size lathe

cbi1000

It is what it is...
Silver Member
Hello,

I've been doing cue repair for a few years now (and have build 3 cues) using a small Taig based lathe i purchased here on this site. I'm now thinking about getting a full size lathe. Here are two i'm looking at from Grizzly:
http://www.grizzly.com/products/12-x-36-Gunsmith-s-Lathe-with-Stand/G4003G

http://www.grizzly.com/products/12-x-36-Gear-Head-Cam-Lock-Spindle-Gap-Bed-Lathe/G4003

They look very similar to me, so i'm asking you folks for advise on the two. Is the first one worth the extra $$ ?

Thanks for the advise.

I've been looking on craigslist for sometime now and have yet to find a nice machine in my area, so new might be the way i go.

whammo57

Kim Walker
Silver Member
There will be times when the 36 in lathe will be too short......... you need the 40 inch...

Kim

WRCues

Registered
The more expensive one has a few extra features, the main one being a larger spindle bore. Worth the extra $ in my opinion. But Whammo57 is right, the 40" would be much better as the carriage travel on the 4003 series is only 30.5". But if these are what is in your budget then by all means spring for the 4003G. Comes with a cabinet that would surely set you back the $300 anyways. - Joel

cbi1000

It is what it is...
Silver Member
The more expensive one has a few extra features, the main one being a larger spindle bore. Worth the extra $ in my opinion. But Whammo57 is right, the 40" would be much better as the carriage travel on the 4003 series is only 30.5". But if these are what is in your budget then by all means spring for the 4003G. Comes with a cabinet that would surely set you back the $300 anyways. - Joel

I'll have to look again. I thought they both had 1.5" spindle bore. I figured the one with the stand would be nice.

I am not clear on the camlock. One is a 4 and the other is a 5. ?

Last edited:

JoeyInCali

Maker of Joey Bautista Cues
Silver Member