Low deflection shaft?

DaveM

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
New guy looking for some advice/opinions

I started playing 8 ball in a local bar league and play several nights a week now. I have a decent McDermott stick with a maple shaft. In looking to upgrade I was thinking about a new stick with a low deflection or low squirt shaft. I've read most of the posts and they seem to be mixed on these shafts. Since I'm relatively new, and frankly wasn't aware of the phenomenon, (I assumed that I had miscued on side spin shots, which may also be the case) should I just go to one of these new shafts for less of an adjustment? Thanks

Last edited:

twal

"W"
Silver Member
If you are on the fence I would recommend you take the money and get some lessons.
Then talk to your coach about this as well as about your weakness.
You will better off in the long run.

Ty-Tanic

Ty-Tanic Makes U Panic
Silver Member
I also agree with Twal. You can take about a month of lessons for the same price as a low deflection shaft and it will pay off in the long run. The instructor will most likely have different kinds of deflections shafts you can try out as well to see what you like. If you really just want to get the low deflection shaft I would recommend going into a billiards shop and trying as many as you can that will fit on your cue. Best of luck

DaveM

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Thanks for the input. I will look for an instructor. My local pool hall doesn't have one. Tried googling with no immediate luck. I'll try a few other pool halls. Thanks again...

AlexandruM

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
You don't need a LD shaft to play great pool. Look at players from Taiwan, China, they use standard maple shafts. Invest your money in lessons, it's the best option.

Ty-Tanic

Ty-Tanic Makes U Panic
Silver Member