Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > 14.1 Pool
Reload this Page Another interesting scenario - Racking?
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Another interesting scenario - Racking?
Old
  (#1)
MatiasMyles
AzB Bronze Member
MatiasMyles is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Sep 2020
   
Another interesting scenario - Racking? - 09-16-2020, 02:10 AM

Hey All,

Leave it to my 14.1 league to come up with these obscure scenario's


During a league 14.1 match, the players are playing Rack Your Own (which in my opinion, both players take the risk that something may go wrong with). The player goes to rack the balls, and one of the object balls he is handling to put in the rack slips out of his hands. that object bounced into the rail and ended up crashing into the cueball.

What do you do in this scenario, is it a foul ?

The way I ruled it, is that it is not a foul and both players would have to agree on where the CB was. I feel that this was an accident, and no rule books have rulings on this based on a rack your own format. plus it wasn't during a shot.

What do you all think ?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,791
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
09-16-2020, 08:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatiasMyles View Post
Hey All,

Leave it to my 14.1 league to come up with these obscure scenario's


During a league 14.1 match, the players are playing Rack Your Own (which in my opinion, both players take the risk that something may go wrong with). The player goes to rack the balls, and one of the object balls he is handling to put in the rack slips out of his hands. that object bounced into the rail and ended up crashing into the cueball.

What do you do in this scenario, is it a foul ?

The way I ruled it, is that it is not a foul and both players would have to agree on where the CB was. I feel that this was an accident, and no rule books have rulings on this based on a rack your own format. plus it wasn't during a shot.

What do you all think ?
The general principle is that since the referee cannot commit a foul, a player acting as a referee cannot commit a foul. Of course if there is an intentional foul, that's a completely different matter.

Put the ball back and continue.

A more common scenario is when the break ball is very close to the rack and the racker is a little shaky and they brush the object ball with the triangle trying to get it off the object balls.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ChrisinNC
AzB Silver Member
ChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,871
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Boone, NC
   
09-16-2020, 01:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatiasMyles View Post
Hey All,

Leave it to my 14.1 league to come up with these obscure scenario's


During a league 14.1 match, the players are playing Rack Your Own (which in my opinion, both players take the risk that something may go wrong with). The player goes to rack the balls, and one of the object balls he is handling to put in the rack slips out of his hands. that object bounced into the rail and ended up crashing into the cueball.

What do you do in this scenario, is it a foul ?

The way I ruled it, is that it is not a foul and both players would have to agree on where the CB was. I feel that this was an accident, and no rule books have rulings on this based on a rack your own format. plus it wasn't during a shot.

What do you all think ?
I like your ruling, but what if the two players disagree on where the cue ball was, particularly if it made the difference in the probability of having a break shot or affecting the severity of the angle of the break shot? If that’s the case, I would have to say the opponent that did not cause the disruption gets final say in where exactly the cue ball is replaced at. If the offending player disagrees and thinks he had a far more favorable cue ball position, too bad, as he was the one at fault.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
DynoDan's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 476
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: May 2018
   
09-16-2020, 02:48 PM

If ‘rack your own’ indeed means the shooter acts as referee (while racking only, since the general rules do specify your opponent becomes the ref when no official one is provided), then until racking is actually complete, that would tend to indicate his decision re: ball placement should be final (?).
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
MatiasMyles
AzB Bronze Member
MatiasMyles is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Sep 2020
   
09-17-2020, 10:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatiasMyles View Post
Hey All,

Leave it to my 14.1 league to come up with these obscure scenario's


During a league 14.1 match, the players are playing Rack Your Own (which in my opinion, both players take the risk that something may go wrong with). The player goes to rack the balls, and one of the object balls he is handling to put in the rack slips out of his hands. that object bounced into the rail and ended up crashing into the cueball.

What do you do in this scenario, is it a foul ? VidMate Mobdro word counter


The way I ruled it, is that it is not a foul and both players would have to agree on where the CB was. I feel that this was an accident, and no rule books have rulings on this based on a rack your own format. plus it wasn't during a shot.

What do you all think ?
issue got solved!!
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.