Stupid rules question
Old
  (#1)
Mick
AzB Silver Member
Mick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond repute
 
Mick's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 155
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Edmonton, Canada
   
Stupid rules question - 07-29-2020, 06:02 PM

Player makes his last ball and gets bad shape on the break ball. Player spaces out/ brain farts, and shoots the break ball before racking and misses.

What the hell happens here?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,791
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
07-29-2020, 07:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
Player makes his last ball and gets bad shape on the break ball. Player spaces out/ brain farts, and shoots the break ball before racking and misses.

What the hell happens here?
Under unsportsmanlike conduct fouls we have:
(d) continuing to play after a foul has been called or play has been suspended;
and under continuing play into the next rack, we have:
When fourteen balls from a rack have been legally pocketed, play is suspended until the balls are re-racked.
... so, it is unsportsmanlike conduct to shoot while the balls are being racked.

A place where this could come up is when the player leaves himself a straight-in along head rail for his break shot. After cursing his luck briefly, he calls safe before the ref finishes the rack, and shoots a stop shot, figuring the ball needs to be racked anyway so he is helping the ref to walk less. That puts the ref in a difficult position to figure out an appropriate penalty.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sjm
Stu with the Ko brothers
sjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond repute
 
sjm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,912
vCash: 525
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
   
07-29-2020, 08:16 PM

Not as stupid as you think. Weird stuff like this comes up all the time even at pro level.

I recall watching Jose Parica vs Lee Van Cortezza playing in the US Open 8-ball. I think it was 2013. Parica broke, but neither he nor Van Cortezza noticed that he'd made the eight ball on the break. The rule in use was that it would be spotted. Parica shot several balls before realizing that the eight ball wasn't even on the table! Under the rules, this was loss of game.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mick
AzB Silver Member
Mick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond reputeMick has a reputation beyond repute
 
Mick's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 155
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Edmonton, Canada
   
07-30-2020, 01:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
Under unsportsmanlike conduct fouls we have:
(d) continuing to play after a foul has been called or play has been suspended;
and under continuing play into the next rack, we have:
When fourteen balls from a rack have been legally pocketed, play is suspended until the balls are re-racked.
... so, it is unsportsmanlike conduct to shoot while the balls are being racked.

A place where this could come up is when the player leaves himself a straight-in along head rail for his break shot. After cursing his luck briefly, he calls safe before the ref finishes the rack, and shoots a stop shot, figuring the ball needs to be racked anyway so he is helping the ref to walk less. That puts the ref in a difficult position to figure out an appropriate penalty.
So the fouling player gets a foul for unsportsmanlike. The incoming player has table in position after the balls are racked I guess?

I wasn't there for it, but it happened between 2 of my friends shortly before I got there. Their decision was to call it a foul, and incoming player accepting table as-is. They then asked me how I'd rule it and I had no idea. I couldn't imagine the situation ever coming up to be honest.

Player 2 offered to have the balls replaced and racked and give player 1 the shot over (it was an honest mistake) but player 1 insisted that he should be penalized somehow for such a boneheaded move.

Last edited by Mick; 07-30-2020 at 01:05 AM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
alstl
AzB Silver Member
alstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond repute
 
alstl's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,998
vCash: 500
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over the hill
   
07-30-2020, 06:01 AM

Ten year ban from pool and forced to take up frisbee golf.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,791
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
07-30-2020, 09:07 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by alstl View Post
Ten year ban from pool and forced to take up frisbee golf.
While frisbee golf is not mentioned explicitly in the possible penalties for unsportsmanlike conduct, ejection from the event and forfeiture of all prize money and rating points are. Another possible penalty is a simple warning, and that seems like the most reasonable in many situations where the early shot had no effect on the outcome and the player had no sinister motive.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,791
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
07-30-2020, 09:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
So the fouling player gets a foul for unsportsmanlike. ... but player 1 insisted that he should be penalized somehow for such a boneheaded move.
As mentioned, it really depends on the situation. If the boneheadedness is harmless, and neither player knows the rules, it's hard for the ref/temp official to be a hardass. If the player shot through the rack area to make his game ball, it's easier.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.