One pocket foul
Old
  (#1)
JayBates
AzB Gold Member
JayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond reputeJayBates has a reputation beyond repute
 
JayBates's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 478
vCash: 500
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
   
One pocket foul - 03-18-2018, 08:43 PM

I've seen this played both ways locally so I'm just wondering which is correct. A or B?

Assuming no other standard fouls were committed... If a ball is pocketed in one of the four non player pockets does that person (A) just spot the pocketed ball and it's the next players turn or (B) does the person spot the pocketed ball, lose a point as a foul for pocketing in a non player pocket, and then spot a second ball for the loss of point?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9,661
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
03-19-2018, 02:06 PM

It's not a foul to pocket a ball in another pocket, you just spot the made ball and it's the other player's turn.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 4,089
vCash: 500
iTrader: 11 / 92%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
   
03-20-2018, 05:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBates View Post
I've seen this played both ways locally so I'm just wondering which is correct. A or B?

Assuming no other standard fouls were committed... If a ball is pocketed in one of the four non player pockets does that person (A) just spot the pocketed ball and it's the next players turn or (B) does the person spot the pocketed ball, lose a point as a foul for pocketing in a non player pocket, and then spot a second ball for the loss of point?
"A". Have never seen the "B" option used.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Meucciplayer
AzB Silver Member
Meucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 112
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Aug 2017
   
05-15-2018, 06:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hang-the-9 View Post
It's not a foul to pocket a ball in another pocket, you just spot the made ball and it's the other player's turn.
But since it's not a foul the player continues if he also pockets a ball in his own pocket, right?

Same if he pockets a ball in the opponent's pocket plus one in his own, right?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
PRED
AzB Silver Member
PRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond reputePRED has a reputation beyond repute
 
PRED's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7,684
vCash: 600
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Mar 2013
   
05-15-2018, 07:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meucciplayer View Post
But since it's not a foul the player continues if he also pockets a ball in his own pocket, right?

Same if he pockets a ball in the opponent's pocket plus one in his own, right?
Spot it up and continue your inning.


IRATUS VULGUS
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
bbb
AzB Gold Member
bbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,713
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 32 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Mar 2008
   
05-15-2018, 07:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meucciplayer View Post
But since it's not a foul the player continues if he also pockets a ball in his own pocket, right?

Same if he pockets a ball in the opponent's pocket plus one in his own, right?
yes
yes unless the ball he pockets in his opponents pocket is his (opponent) game winning ball
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Meucciplayer
AzB Silver Member
Meucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond reputeMeucciplayer has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 112
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Aug 2017
   
05-15-2018, 07:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PRED View Post
Spot it up and continue your inning.
Uhmmm ... I always thought you spot ALL balls AT THE END of your inning. Unless it's a handicap game being a ball you still need to continue?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 4,089
vCash: 500
iTrader: 11 / 92%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
   
Yesterday, 03:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meucciplayer View Post
But since it's not a foul the player continues if he also pockets a ball in his own pocket, right?

Same if he pockets a ball in the opponent's pocket plus one in his own, right?
Yes............
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 4,089
vCash: 500
iTrader: 11 / 92%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
   
Yesterday, 03:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pred View Post
spot it up and continue your inning.
huh???? ..................
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
greyghost
exile
greyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond repute
 
greyghost's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6,485
vCash: 500
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2005
   
Yesterday, 03:46 AM

Pocketing a ball in the top four pockets is never a foul, and if a ball is pocketed there while also making a ball in ones own hole them that pocketed ball in the top four isnít spotted up till your inning is over.

Unless you need one and that ball in top four pocket is the last ball then it spots back up and the player continues to shoot.

I know a few good shots that deal with this situation may try and diagram later if I get time out here.

-greyghost


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.