Playing By Myself at Home

Logandgriff

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
I've been playing by myself at home for over three months and have actually gotten a little better I think but now I'm getting very bored. Besides various drills (which generally are not fun for me) I have been playing nine ball against the ghost, and trying to run 15 balls after break and ball in hand. I tried practicing one pocket but I'm not a one pocket player so I was just floating around lost when I did that.

Do you have any ideas for other fun games to play solo?

Thank you. Stay safe and have fun.

Franky4Eyes

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Advantage of home table is being able to practice crucial fundamentals at the luxury of your own pace. It can be a hindrance if a person is lazy though. Pressure does benefit most people.
I'd say set other goals to accomplish that will give you a good foundation to progress.
Can you make 10 out of 10 spot shots in either corner pocket from center of the head string line?
Are you comfortable making long table length cuts against the rail consistently?
If you're not comfortable with 1 pocket, maybe look into short rack bank pool...
Practicing banks is plenty of fun and frustration when new to the game.
Try target zone rewards for practicing shape.
Allow yourself something nice if you're able to put the cue ball exactly where you want it several times in a row.
Learn precise carom angles.
A fun game for this is often called Russian pool. You intentionally shoot object balls at the cue ball, and try to get the object ball to go into the pocket off of the cue ball only.
Practice precise draw stroke. Like how to get the cue ball to reverse different lengths from at least 3 diamonds distance.
I'd say the key is set realistic goals that aren't going to drive you away from the table by becoming frustrated, or bored.