New player needs a cue

Chagy

Registered
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to pool in general I've been playing for about a year and a half I'm a pretty good player though and will be playing in a league soon so I'm looking for a good cue for under $200. I was looking at the Viking V103 and wondering if this is a good que or another cue would be better. Also the weight I was thinking probably 18.5 would that be good for so wine new like myself. I normally try and play with an 18 or 19 oz cue at the bar. One more question in how is the feel and everything to a cue like this compared to one that I would use at a bar.

Thanks for your guys help I look forward to readying the responses

Chagy

Registered
Now what would be the difference in the cue that I posted and say one of the ones you said were good? I'm really a newbie about all of this.

txironhead

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If there's a big city near you, find a billiard store. Some of the larger ones actually have demo sticks and they'll let you shoot a few and see how you like it. Even if they don't, at least you can "feel" them. The best cue for you is the one that feels right in your hands. I've shot with a friend's $1,200 cue and hated it. He loves it, has won tournaments with it. It's preference, and we're all different. So the more brands, styles, weight, etc. sticks you can hold and try the better, because one will feel right. Tell them your budget and they'll work with you. Later, as your skill level increases you will probably want to go with a custom stick, because they put cocaine in the chalk and heroin in the powder, this is all just one huge addiction. :grin:

Seriously, I like my Adam, but I really want one made just for me, and most of the APA 5-7's I know eventually sold or traded their McDermotts and Lucasis and went custom.

Card Slinger

Registered
I'd say go for that Viking. Lifetime warranty on the shaft. Decent Everest tip. Irish linen wrap. That weight should be fine.