Gold Crown 3 issues.....??

garczar

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I know this has been covered before but a search didn't get what i was looking for ,so: What is it that makes the 3 less desirable than the other versions? I've heard substandard slate, less robust frames and kinda wonky design issues. I know they play fine but from a build/maintenance standpoint what is it that makes the 3 the red-headed stepchild of Gold Crowns? Thanks for any input.

Last edited:

trentfromtoledo

8onthebreaktoledo
Silver Member
they made the Gold Crown 3 longer than any other version. Yes, like all pool tables they have their issues, but, anyone who knows what they are doing can make it play and look excellent! Others may say different, just my $0.02

Trent from Toledo

fastone371

Certifiable
Silver Member
I am not a table mechanic but I gotta agree with Trent. Its a commercial Gold Crown, its a perfectly fine table that will last a lifetime. Wasn't it the GCIII's where they started having problems with the rail rubber getting hard early?? In my opinion with new cushions and cloth you have a Gold Crown as good as any other. I have a GCI with new cushions, 4 3/8" pockets, and modified sub-rail angles, the table plays great but I would rather have a GCV because of the flush mount pockets, that is just personal preference but so are the differences in the different Gold Crown models for the most part.

trentfromtoledo

8onthebreaktoledo
Silver Member