Custom Cue Values... Little help from people in the know?

marinemike0931

Registered
So, I've been shooting in amature pool leagues for about 13 years now and am finally considering having a custom cue made. The problem I have is the pricing seems to be heavily driven by reputation. If someone is selling a custom cue, it doesn't seem to matter how it hits, or how intricate the inlay work is if it wasn't built by a well known and reputable maker. I've been working with a cue maker out of Singapore who's work seems really solid and the few people in my area who own his cues are very impressed with his work. One of the guys I talked to said it hits just like his Barnhart. So, I got a quote for a cue that I did a rendering of (I'll add a picture) and the price came back at $2150 (shipped, including PP fees with 1 shaft, matching extension, and 2 sets of joint protectors... 1 of which I'm using for my Jacoby). Guy tells me it would cost $4k+ for Jacoby to make it for me, I believe him... But what would it be worth if I ever try to sell it? There's a lot of work here, but will anyone appreciate it if I ever try to unload it?
17da2da11ca19812cc100685f7ed9c48.jpg
3520df0769e1917ecb47690142969e34.jpg
4d3f2426647a073829c9be9fe8fd768c.jpg
e3cff52bc19cc7dcebd74d157198a4c5.jpg

Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk

PhilosopherKing

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I would ask Jacoby if they’re who you like. Then I would ask Joel Davidas from the Philippines. In the end, I would do what makes me happy.

Except for a handful of guys, you’ll probably take a big hit on the resale of a custom build like that, no matter who makes it.

skogstokig

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
not a cue guy, but that design is bordering on a totem pole look which is probably my least favourite cue design. taste differs though. unless there is a famous singaporean cuemaker that i've missed you probably won't get even close to half the price trying to re-sell it..

marinemike0931

Registered