Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Products Talk > Ask The Cuemaker
Reload this Page Quick and dirty CNC
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Quick and dirty CNC
Old
  (#1)
pdcue
AzB Silver Member
pdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,493
vCash: 500
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2006
   
Quick and dirty CNC - 02-28-2018, 02:20 PM

Anyone out there know anything about this offering from fleabay?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/TAIG-BB6-po...QAAOSwpP9Y5rzS

Of course I would prefer verified facts but will listen to rumors that
have the ring of truth.

He has 1500-ish sales with 100% positive feedback...
but on the other hand, he's from New Jersey

TIA

Dale
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
stylz730
AzB Bronze Member
stylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
02-28-2018, 02:45 PM

I do know the guy hi name is Phill. I have ordered some different parts from him converting my lathe to CnC . He was finishing up this setup last time I talked to him. He uses quality parts and the setup is legit. He orders the head stock from Todd and he orders the rest direct from Sherline. My lathe setup is very similar to this one with the same power feed setup that I got from him as well as the cross slide power feed. His instructions are very limited in some of his kits. I actually wrote his instruction setup for his power feed kit. The only difference in my setup is the steady rest and the tail stock has a chuck mounted to it. Here is web page and contact. https://bb6corpusa.com/

Jason
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
captainjko
Kirk
captainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond repute
 
captainjko's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 732
vCash: 500
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wilkes County N.C.
   
02-28-2018, 04:29 PM

I bought a lathe set up from him with auto feed and "taper set up"....I was not aware that it was not an assembled unit. Or that it had not been pre-assembled and taken apart for shipping... Some of it came in a few boxes... No instructions.... No wiring diagram for the auto feed..... The taper was nothing but offsetting the tail stock.... I wasted 6 - 7 months waiting on the rest of the stuff to come in....Excuse after excuse....The motor was not a variable speed, so I sent it back... The invoice showed I paid $120 for the motor but received $80 refund????? I know... Plus I paid the return shipping... I finally received everything (I think) after 7-8 months......I use the head stock, tail stock, and dovetail bed... I use the industrial sewing machine motor I converted with it..... It is my finishing lathe........ I will not purchase from them again....


Player- T.K.O. Custom Sneaky
Breaker- T.K.O. Custom Sneaky
Jump- T.K.O. Custom Jump
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
stylz730
AzB Bronze Member
stylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
02-28-2018, 05:40 PM

This is one of his down falls like I commented on was that he give little to no instructions on assembly or set up. I did not have the issue of the time line it took to get my parts. I don't know him personally just the business I have done with him. As support he is not very good but the lathe its self when assembled works good. I did already have my own lath that is most of the same set up as his but I did have a 3/4 hp motor from Chris hightower . Captianjok if you are interested, like I said I put together a detailed instruction on assembling the power feed for him and I am surprised he didn't send it to you. If you are interested I can send it to you it is written details with pictures on assembly and wiring.

Jason
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
captainjko
Kirk
captainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond repute
 
captainjko's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 732
vCash: 500
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wilkes County N.C.
   
02-28-2018, 06:24 PM

He sent it to me..... But I felt mislead in the function of the taper.... I had a Hightower Mid Size lathe and could offset the tail stock for the butt taper already.... I was asking him about shaft taper and was told It would do both....When all he sent me was a small steady rest with live center and a 3/16 key stock to put on the bed to do the taper with a standard cutting tool on the tool post, I new something was up.... This was a while ago.... Water under the bridge..... I have my Porper B now and ALL is grand..... Im not trying to talk bad about him... Im just stating my experience... Maybe things are better with him now????


Player- T.K.O. Custom Sneaky
Breaker- T.K.O. Custom Sneaky
Jump- T.K.O. Custom Jump
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
stylz730
AzB Bronze Member
stylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
02-28-2018, 07:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjko View Post
He sent it to me..... But I felt mislead in the function of the taper.... I had a Hightower Mid Size lathe and could offset the tail stock for the butt taper already.... I was asking him about shaft taper and was told It would do both....When all he sent me was a small steady rest with live center and a 3/16 key stock to put on the bed to do the taper with a standard cutting tool on the tool post, I new something was up.... This was a while ago.... Water under the bridge..... I have my Porper B now and ALL is grand..... Im not trying to talk bad about him... Im just stating my experience... Maybe things are better with him now????


Yeah I donít know about his taper method. I took his power feed kit for the cross slide and carriage and added a controller to make a cnc lathe so I can cut my tapers with simple g code. Never the less hopefully our info helped someone.


Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
pdcue
AzB Silver Member
pdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,493
vCash: 500
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2006
   
02-28-2018, 08:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stylz730 View Post
Yeah I donít know about his taper method. I took his power feed kit for the cross slide and carriage and added a controller to make a cnc lathe so I can cut my tapers with simple g code. Never the less hopefully our info helped someone.


Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums
It helped me.

To be fair, the web site now implies you have to build
the lathe yourself. And my interest is in the CNC, so
tapering is not an issue.

Assembling all the bits and pieces from scratch
is definitely more of a project than I want,
but i don't see it as a deal breaker.

Thanks a bunch.
Dale
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
stylz730
AzB Bronze Member
stylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
02-28-2018, 08:35 PM

Dale, glad it helped. If you do decide to do it and have any questions let me know . I just finished converting mine to full cnc. I could let you know the doís and dontís of what I learned building it. I was out of my league when I started it but figured it out.

Jason


Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
captainjko
Kirk
captainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond reputecaptainjko has a reputation beyond repute
 
captainjko's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 732
vCash: 500
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wilkes County N.C.
   
02-28-2018, 09:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stylz730 View Post
Dale, glad it helped. If you do decide to do it and have any questions let me know . I just finished converting mine to full cnc. I could let you know the doís and dontís of what I learned building it. I was out of my league when I started it but figured it out.

Jason


Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums
I would be interested in details on converting to full CNC ... Pictures.... Video... etc. If you don't mind... I still have the stuff.... Might as well put it to good use if possible...
Email is captainjko2001@yahoo.com


Player- T.K.O. Custom Sneaky
Breaker- T.K.O. Custom Sneaky
Jump- T.K.O. Custom Jump
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
pdcue
AzB Silver Member
pdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond reputepdcue has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,493
vCash: 500
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2006
   
02-28-2018, 11:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stylz730 View Post
Dale, glad it helped. If you do decide to do it and have any questions let me know . I just finished converting mine to full cnc. I could let you know the doís and dontís of what I learned building it. I was out of my league when I started it but figured it out.

Jason


Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums
Thanks a bunch - I really appreciate your offer.

Dale
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
stylz730
AzB Bronze Member
stylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
03-01-2018, 04:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjko View Post
I would be interested in details on converting to full CNC ... Pictures.... Video... etc. If you don't mind... I still have the stuff.... Might as well put it to good use if possible...

Email is captainjko2001@yahoo.com


I will get info together of what all I used and pictures and send it to you this weekend.

Jason



Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
jkan101
jkan101
jkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond reputejkan101 has a reputation beyond repute
 
jkan101's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 508
vCash: 1100
iTrader: 24 / 96%
Join Date: Jul 2013
   
03-01-2018, 06:01 AM

Here is an alternative to all this....I have one works very well......
http://www.midamericapool.com/cnc-ta...-machines.html
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
JC
Needs Moderation

JC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond reputeJC has a reputation beyond repute
 
JC's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11,654
vCash: 500
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PNW
   
03-01-2018, 07:48 AM

I looked at all these taig based options before I decided to build my wall mounted linear actuator machine. No comparison really.

JC


JC

It's not what you don't know that get's you in trouble
It's what you know that just ain't so
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
stylz730
AzB Bronze Member
stylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond reputestylz730 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
03-01-2018, 08:36 AM

It is an alternative but a 3K alternative. When your on a budget and use it as a hobby sometime you have to look for cheaper alternatives What I have works good and it was a couple hundred dollars in parts to add on to my existing lathe. defiantly not comparable to what Todd offers in quality but in the end will do the same job.

Jason
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BarenbruggeCues
Unregistered User
BarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond reputeBarenbruggeCues has a reputation beyond repute
 
BarenbruggeCues's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,244
vCash: 500
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Just past the big Saguaro on the eastern end of the Sonoran Desert right next to the mountain by the dry river bed.
   
03-01-2018, 09:46 AM

Good luck dealing with phil.....
Very little to no support.....
He falls in the category of he'll get you now.....
Or he'll get you later....
Which would you prefer?


Dave

http://barenbruggecues.com/

Use my email please. <<< CLICK HERE



I'm not arguing with you.....I'm just explaining why I'm right.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.