Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Instruction & Ask the pros > Ask The Instructor
Reload this Page 3 Foul Rule in 9 Ball Question
Reply
Page 2 of 2 12
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old
  (#16)
dougster26
AzB Silver Member
dougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond repute
 
dougster26's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 915
vCash: 500
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maine
   
02-03-2015, 03:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DogsPlayingPool View Post
Under World Standardized Rules, 3 fouls is covered under fouls for all games that have a three foul rule, straight pool included. You must inform the player he is "on two" when he comes to the table. If you fail to notify him and he fouls again the fouls do not reset but he is still considered to be on two fouls.
Thank you, that answers the question. It's not a sportmanship question, it's what's the rule.
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#17)
DogsPlayingPool
"What's in your wallet?"
DogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond reputeDogsPlayingPool has a reputation beyond repute
 
DogsPlayingPool's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,295
vCash: 500
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Left Coast
   
02-03-2015, 05:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougster26 View Post
Thank you, that answers the question. It's not a sportmanship question, it's what's the rule.

I'm not sure the way I explained it was completely clear so let me confirm. If you do not inform him he's on two and he fouls a third successive time it does not count as a third foul. But he is still on two, not back to zero.


"It's not enough that you just have talent, you gotta have character too." - Eddie Felson
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Scott Lee
AzB Silver Member

Scott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond reputeScott Lee has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15,998
vCash: 4100
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Now living in Largo FL
   
02-07-2015, 08:45 AM

While many players, especially gambling, subscribe to the "you snooze, you lose" scenario, personally I have more integrity than that. I have ALWAYS called my own fouls (even those that may result in loss of game), whether my opponent knew it, saw it...or not. You still have to look in the mirror. Either you have integrity or you don't. The day I have to cheat to win a game of pool, I will be hanging my cue up for good! JMO I like Bob's idea of a visual foul indicator.

Scott Lee
http://poolknowledge.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougster26 View Post
However, I was referring to playing for money. If I know I am on 2 and the person doesn't tell me, playing for money, then I don't consider it unsportsmanlike. The rules are the rules.


PBIA Master Instructor
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
BeiberLvr
AzB Silver Member
BeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond reputeBeiberLvr has a reputation beyond repute
 
BeiberLvr's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7,886
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
   
02-07-2015, 08:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Lee View Post
While many players, especially gambling, subscribe to the "you snooze, you lose" scenario, personally I have more integrity than that. I have ALWAYS called my own fouls (even those that may result in loss of game), whether my opponent knew it, saw it...or not. You still have to look in the mirror. Either you have integrity or you don't. The day I have to cheat to win a game of pool, I will be hanging my cue up for good! JMO I like Bob's idea of a visual foul indicator.

Scott Lee
http://poolknowledge.com
Scott,

This has been brought up plenty of times here.

If I'm on two, and foul, then I'll definitely call it on myself. However, if my opponent doesn't tell me I'm on two (which is their responsibility not mine), then tough luck for them.

Following the rules does not and should not diminish one's integrity.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
FranCrimi
AzB Silver Member
FranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,743
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2010
   
02-07-2015, 11:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
I think there is an exception for a visible scoreboard on which the fouls are noted.
That's my understanding as well.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
FranCrimi
AzB Silver Member
FranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond reputeFranCrimi has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,743
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2010
   
02-07-2015, 11:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougster26 View Post
Thank you, that answers the question. It's not a sportmanship question, it's what's the rule.
That's right. I remember an issue in a WPBA event where the player who was on two fouls didn't hear her opponent tell her, so the WPBA created a rule that the player must acknowledge to her opponent that she heard it. A simple 'OK" was was acceptable.

Makes sense, actually. I highly recommend that leagues and tournaments adapt this.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
dougster26
AzB Silver Member
dougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond reputedougster26 has a reputation beyond repute
 
dougster26's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 915
vCash: 500
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maine
   
02-07-2015, 11:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DogsPlayingPool View Post
I'm not sure the way I explained it was completely clear so let me confirm. If you do not inform him he's on two and he fouls a third successive time it does not count as a third foul. But he is still on two, not back to zero.
Yes you explained it clearly, however a simple question has turned into a technicality issue, being able to sleep at night, and looking into the mirror situation. I have always called fouls on myself, I don't play for money, however if I did and the rule is your opponent has to inform you that you are on 2 and $500 was on the line, I really think that I would rather look at myself in the mirror after a good nights sleep knowing that I have an extra $500 to spend today. All I was asking was "what is the rule".
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 2 of 2 12

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.