Switching hands due to Parkinson's Disease

Jds.3211

Jds.3211
Hello,

I am a 51 year old right-handed shooter with a right dominant eye. I have had Parkinson's for 12 years. The Parkinson's Primarily effects my right side. Recently my Parkinson's medicine is becoming less effective. This causes muscles in my right shoulder, arm, and hand to tighten, be unable to initiate smooth motion, or to "jerk." It happens intermittently and even when I try to time my medication intake. I have been shooting pool seriously for about 2 years. It can cause me to go from an APA 5-6 Skill Level 8 ball player to a 2-4 level skill player depending on the day and how bad the symptoms are.

I don't want to give up pool, and I don't want people to feel sorry for me or me to feel someone only beat me because of the Parkinsons. I was thinking of trying to learn to shoot left handed on days my right side is not working so well.

Was wondering of anyone else had Parkinson's and how they coped with randomly changing ability, or if they tried shooting opposite handed?

If you tried opposite handed, did you switch your dominant eye or any other issues I should consider before trying?

I've shot a few close shots here and there left-handed when I am too lazy to get the bridge, but they are "can't miss" kind of shots (though they do get missed lol). Other than that, I have never shot opposite handed.

Thanks for your thoughts!

John

Last edited:

alstl

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Sorry to hear about your Parkinson's. I can't directly answer your question but there have been one or two players who switched handness. John Morra is the most recent. He played right handed with the cue under his left eye originally but he developed shoulder problems and changed to left handed with cue still under the left eye.

Nick Varner for many years has had some shaking in his grip hand. He has not changed hands to my knowledge and I'm not sure what the cause if for his shaking.