"It seems like nowadays everybody's dropping like flies, all my friends"

The Renfro

Outsville.com
Silver Member
Thanks for the heads up.... gotta few years to go but it's nice to know advances are being made... Now if I can just find the willpower to toss the friggin things in the garbage....

Chris

Tennesseejoe

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Great information. I have survived prostate cancer surgery but am very concerned about other cancers. In younger years I worked in a factory with many chemicals which are now banned. Presently I play in a very smoky pool room about 5 times per week but haven't smoked in 30 years.
Thanks for the heads up ... I will talk to my doctor about this.

PoolSharkAllen

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
if you're over the age of 55 and have spent a large majority of your life in smoke filled poolrooms and bars, you're at risk for developing a smoke related illness.....cancer, COPD, etc.

If you're in this category THERE IS SOMETHING YOU CAN DO TO POTENTIALLY SAVE YOUR LIFE! It is call Screening for Lung Cancer With Low-Dose Computed Tomography or LDCT (CT Scan).

A recent study on LDCT was stopped early due to the obvious benefit which was reduced deaths caused by lung cancer..........20% less compared to the control group.

Although I never smoked, I plan on getting one when I turn 55 in 2 years........I spent my whole life in smoke filled poolrooms. Maybe it will save my life, maybe yours?

DTL
Thanks for posting this thread on a topic that needs more attention by pool players who play in pool halls that allow smoking. Anyone who plays in a pool hall that allows smoking may be inhaling the equivalent of a what a pack-a-day smoker breathes in over the course of a few hours.

Why wait until you're 55 to get a LDCT scan and find out that you have cancer? If you are playing in a pool hall that allows smoking, the time to make a change in your lifestyle is NOW and find another pool hall that is smoke-free!