Question about an older OB shaft

JUSTABANGER 2

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I bought an used OB shaft a couple of years ago along with a couple of Predator shafts. The tip was off so I just left it in my case till a couple of months ago. I finally got around to cleaning it up and replacing the tip and I must say I love the way it plays. The only thing that bother me was a couple of spots where slivers of the shaft had a indentation like someone had creased it with their fingernail. I filled then with super glue and sanded it smooth. Still every once in awhile another one would pop up. Then last night a friend ask if I'd ever tried a CUE-Z shooting glove? Well as soon as I started shooting with it I started getting all kinds of drag from the shaft I think the micro fiber were getting stuck under the small slivers in the shaft. Today I put the OB in my lathe and sanded it with 400 and then 2000 grit then treated it with cue Dr. conditioner. I then tried the CUE-Z again the same thing happened again. I'm at a loss I hate to junk this shaft but I don't know what else to do. Any input would be greatly appreciated.Thanks

RRfireblade

Grammer Are For Stupids
Silver Member
You need to put a couple coats of sanding sealer on it to fill the grain and then sand smooth. All my old OBs were like that.

RRfireblade

Grammer Are For Stupids
Silver Member
Prob is you have all that end grain, lams and glue joints right there at the surface. Thats never going to change until you sand down into the core. :)

Don't do that.

I think they do a better job now but back then I don't think they sealed them up very well or maybe at all ?

Anyways. Easy fix. Stays cleaner afterwards too.

nancewayne

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Talk to OB Cues about the cure on the older OB shafts.
Also, any recommendation on a Sanding Sealer brand?

You need to put a couple coats of sanding sealer on it to fill the grain and then sand smooth. All my old OBs were like that.

RRfireblade