Collection on a budget

Ravenbrook

Registered
Hello everyone. I've been playing for a long time and had a Schon for over 20 years and just recently bought a new cue. It is a Mezz and while I like it, it lacks character so I decided to order two different custom cues. I ordered a Chris Nitti wrapless cue last week and just today I ordered a Rich Howard Ebony Sneaky Pete. Heard good things about both of those guys so I got the ball rolling.

My question is if you wanted to have 5 or 6 different cues (other than break cues) what would you order/buy if your budget was $1500 max per cue. I want these to be players and not so much collectible cues. I'm not into really flashy cues, my Nitti on order is just Ebony forearm and butt with a Cocobolo wrap with a little ringwork.

There are a ton of good cue makers out there but I have no idea what separates a $2000 Merry Widow by a cuemaker like Bluegrass cues from a $400 MW by Mezz.

I am thinking that a Sugartree and a Bluegrass might make the list, but I'm open to any suggestions. Who do I need to look at, perhaps an up and comer that's not a household name?

And no, I will not save up and spend the whole budget on just one cue.

Thanks,

Rick

JazzboxBlues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Collecting Sneaky's is a way to have some nice cues without spending a lot of money. The draw back to that is they seem to have a lack of value. I personally don't like the idea of having multiple players. I find it best to pick a cue and stick with it. I'm down to 2 I won't sell and have a 3rd on the way. I hope to have one for bar use and the other for the pool hall.

I think a Blue Grass Merry Widow would make a great cue both as a player and collectible.

Last edited:

TATE

AzB Gold Mensch
Silver Member
For value and investment, I'm thinking maybe the old Schons would be a good way to go. Look for sharp points and inlays, 1980's cues, S or R catalog, something like that.