Rules question about bridge
Old
  (#1)
joepool
PBIA Advanced Instructor
joepool is on a distinguished road
 
joepool's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: san francisco
   
Rules question about bridge - 12-09-2018, 10:16 PM

I have always thought that when using the bridge, you needed to keep a hand on the bridge. Today, in a league tournament, someone took their hand off the bridge and shot. There was a discussion and tournament director had the game be played over as they could find no rule about it. This is BCA 8 ball.
Is it a foul to take your hand off the bridge when shooting with it?


Tom Seymour
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
greyghost
exile
greyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond reputegreyghost has a reputation beyond repute
 
greyghost's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7,111
vCash: 500
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2005
   
12-09-2018, 10:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by joepool View Post
I have always thought that when using the bridge, you needed to keep a hand on the bridge. Today, in a league tournament, someone took their hand off the bridge and shot. There was a discussion and tournament director had the game be played over as they could find no rule about it. This is BCA 8 ball.

Is it a foul to take your hand off the bridge when shooting with it?


No but itís the obvious smart move to keep your hand on it so it

A) doesnít move/is stable
B) doesnít make contact with the cb or balls depending on if your playing just cb or all ball fouls.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  
Reply With Quote
thanku
Old
  (#3)
joepool
PBIA Advanced Instructor
joepool is on a distinguished road
 
joepool's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: san francisco
   
thanku - 12-11-2018, 10:54 AM

thanks for the quick reply.


Tom Seymour
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Chili Palmer
Banned
Chili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond reputeChili Palmer has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,159
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2018
   
01-16-2019, 04:21 PM

We have a guy in APA that breaks 1 handed but plays with both? Not sure what the deal is but nobody says anything to him.

He made the 9 on the break against me, so it works for him.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
WilleeCue
The Barefoot Cuemaker
WilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond reputeWilleeCue has a reputation beyond repute
 
WilleeCue's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,115
vCash: 1100
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
   
02-10-2019, 03:56 AM

They played the game over because they could find no written rule about it?
why?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,703
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-02-2019, 09:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by joepool View Post
I have always thought that when using the bridge, you needed to keep a hand on the bridge. Today, in a league tournament, someone took their hand off the bridge and shot. There was a discussion and tournament director had the game be played over as they could find no rule about it. This is BCA 8 ball.
Is it a foul to take your hand off the bridge when shooting with it?
I think you want to look at rule 1-3 "Use of Equipment" in the BCAPL rules. Then you have to make an interpretation of whether the wording "You may not use equipment or accessory items in a manner other than their intended use" applies to not holding the bridge handle. Then you have to decide what the penalty is because a standard for violation of 1-3 is not stated.

It was a mistake to replay the game. A decision should have been made at the time of the shot. I would have said that the player got no unfair benefit from what some (but not all) might possibly consider an unusual way to use the bridge. The same method is available to everyone who wants to use it.

In the BCA/WPA rules the only rule that might be applied is under Unsportsmanlike Conduct (6.17(h)) "using equipment inappropriately" which is a little nebulous. If the ref/TD feels that letting go of the bridge handle is not an appropriate way to use the bridge, then he should apply an appropriate penalty. I think the use is appropriate, but if not, then a simple warning seems like the right penalty.

If you watch snooker, you will see the following use of the bridge:

You need to get the cue up higher than usual to bridge over a ball and both balls are far from you. (Cue ball on the other side of the blue ball on a snooker table.) Grip the bridge very firmly with your left fist about a foot from the butt end. Place the knuckles of your fist on the table and twist so that the butt touches the cloth and the bridge head is elevated off the cloth. Such a shot was played in the current World Championships and I have seen Ronnie O'Sullivan use the technique. In my view such use is appropriate and the shooter gets no unfair benefit from using the bridge like that.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.