Mental game ignoring the doubters

Welder84

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have been playing pool for 30 years and do not have much backswing past 90 degrees. I have won several local tournaments and have made a eighty ball run in straight pool. I also have beaten several 630-650 fargo rated players in tournaments over the years. My question is how to deal with negative people telling me I have no stroke, I then get self conscious and believe it. I have limited time and want to enjoy my game as is. Any advice for a unorthodox player would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

bbb

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
i am not an instructor
as good as you play
my first responce would be to say to them
"wanna play some $100 sets" ?

:)

bbb

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
allen hopkins had a "funky " stroke
he did ok ...:D
just sayin

bbb

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
one last thing
if i could run 80 balls in straight pool
my stroke is good enough
:thumbup:

GoldCrown

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
My question is how to deal with negative people telling me I have no stroke,

As bbb stated. Deal with them at the table.
I play with a guy...you can beat him all day long ...win 10 games of whatever and he'll tell you everything you did wrong.

BC21

https://www.playpoolbetter.com
Gold Member
Silver Member
I have been playing pool for 30 years and do not have much backswing past 90 degrees. I have won several local tournaments and have made a eighty ball run in straight pool. I also have beaten several 630-650 fargo rated players in tournaments over the years. My question is how to deal with negative people telling me I have no stroke, I then get self conscious and believe it. I have limited time and want to enjoy my game as is. Any advice for a unorthodox player would be greatly appreciated. Thanks