Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Cuesports: Rules & Strategies
Reload this Page Hypothetical 8 Ball Question
Reply
Page 2 of 2 12
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old
  (#16)
Swighey
AzB Silver Member
Swighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond reputeSwighey has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 886
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2010
   
12-21-2019, 07:30 PM

Actually having thought about this again (and there might still be holes in my thinking, so please challenge it if you see fit):

The rules state that the groups are only chosen after a legal called shot is made. Also, “The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared”

So the order is:
1, a legal shot must be made
2, groups are decided
3, the eight can be made

So, in the unusual and unlikely situation where the table is still open with only one group on the table:

The incoming player can play safe or call a stripe. Essentially, you have a choice. Either try to run the table or play a weak safety that forces your opponent to consider doing the same.

According to the letter of the rules I think that’s correct.
  
Reply With Quote

Reply
Page 2 of 2 12

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.