Question for Independent Table Mechanics

Do YOU think Jacksonville is a good move???

• Yes

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • No

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Anything is better than Atlanta

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Why the hell would you leave Atlanta

Votes: 2 33.3%

• Total voters

smittie1984

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
As many of you might know I am a pool table mechanic. I work for a pool table store here in Atlanta. Right now I am basically the help but have stuck with the job to learn a new job skill.

Now I enjoy my job at my store. However, probably in the next year or two I want to break off on my own. That way I can make better money and more importantly have control over myself. I'll likely sell my Xterra and buy a cargo style van for hauling tables. I know it won't be as nice as a Box Truck but you have to start out somewhere.

Another reason I want to break off is a change in Scenery. I am in love with the Georgia Coast. Especially Savannah. But Savannah isn't a very large city and I need to go where I'm sure there will be plenty of work. So I'll likely move to Jacksonville, Florida with it being a decent size metropolis and near the Golden Isles. (Maybe I can bring the median age down to 80). It's not as big as Atlanta but I have to get away from Atlanta. And it won't be that long of a drive to Atlanta to visit family.

Anyways here are some of my questions. I'll be a cell phone based business. (infact I might sleep in the van if I have to) I'll try to get some yellow page adds and such. However my problem will be how to aquire Cloth and Bumpers at a wholesale price. Our shop can get it at wholesale due to us being a pool table store. I just don't know what process I'll have to go through being on my own.

I might just have to bite the bullet and buy it from a store at retail and make nothing on the cloth. That way I can still make money from the work but not the cloth it's self. I just need to get my name out.

Any help is appreciated.

Jack Flanagan