More beginner questions...

rack runner

Registered
Hey everyone, back with more questions. Im hoping it doesnt offend the seasoned cuemakers digital ears too much.

Starting small, gearing up. Still have to get some machinery together. But, when making house cue conversions, often times you have to extend the butt after cut, for said reasons. The dimension at the joint where you would need to cut to be, for example, .840", would make the cue come out too short and youd rather not turn down the entire blank just to do a house cue conversion. So to make up the additional 3-3.5 inches you add a buttsleeve of whatever wood combined with a collar after and bumper.

Im a machinist at work, am familiar with lathe work but, not specifically cue work...so...
Heres the newbie question. What kind of mechanism/design do cuemakers (you guys) use to join the end of your (now cut) 25.500" house cue so that the total length comes out to 29", while still maintaining balance.

Been pouring over the web and this forum looking for answers!!!

Sheldon

dontneednostinkintitle
Silver Member
Add a buttsleeve. Either with a tenon that's part of the sleeve, or on a core. Select your materials depending on the weight of the pieces you have, what you'll use as a pin, what the total weight needs to be.

JoeyInCali

Maker of Joey Bautista Cues
Silver Member
Threading the tenon adds to the build.

Specially when that section gets slammed to the floor a lot.
5/8 18 is a good one for that purpose.
You can then turn down the outside of that butt bottom that has the threads to 7/8.
When you slide in the sleeve, the outside of the threaded part will now have two glued surface plus the threads.
If you use 3/8 16 connecting screw, you then add a little more weight to the bottom.

WilleeCue

The Barefoot Cuemaker
Silver Member
Start with a longer house cue?

I dont understand how cutting and joining a house cue reduces the overall length more than about 1/4 inch.