Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > 14.1 Pool
Reload this Page Question rule in our pool league
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Question rule in our pool league
Old
  (#1)
BigDeal52
Don Pearce

BigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond reputeBigDeal52 has a reputation beyond repute
 
BigDeal52's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 201
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Houston
   
Question rule in our pool league - 03-17-2018, 12:58 PM

We have a special rule in our pool league. Someone said it was a rule but I have never found it. I am hoping for clarification from our distinguished straight pool experts.

The 15th ball and the cue ball were both in the rack. So all 15 of the balls were racked and the cue ball was put in the kitchen. My opponent was on a foul; so I intentionally fouled the cue ball in order to make my opponent shoot a long shot at the rack in hopes that he would leave me a shot or at least give me a good safety opportunity. My opponent along with our league director said I could not foul this way; they said I could do an intentional foul but the cue ball had to cross the head string first. Since I am a Missouri born fellow I asked them to Show Me the rule. They were unable to; the director said a former player in our league said if you did that it was a ball in hand foul.

I don't think there is any such rule but am willing to be enlightened.

What do you folks say?


I love my Jacoby Edge Hybrid
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
sparkle84
AzB Silver Member
sparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond reputesparkle84 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 177
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Haverhill, ma.
   
03-17-2018, 02:51 PM

Yes, you have to shoot across the headstring. If not it would be an unsportsmanlike conduct foul ( I think). However, there is no such thing as BIH in straight pool. Not under any circumstance.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AtLarge
AzB Gold Member
AtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 9,266
vCash: 500
iTrader: 76 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2008
   
03-17-2018, 02:53 PM

Your opponent and your league director were correct. In that situation (all 15 object balls racked), you must shoot the cue ball across the head string.

From the WPA (world-standardized) rules.
  • 6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String
    ... The cue ball must either cross the head string or contact a ball in front of or on the head string or the shot is a foul, and the cue ball is in hand for the following player according to the rules of the specific game. If such shot is intentional, it is also unsportsmanlike conduct.

As you were told, you can take an intentional foul, e.g., by shooting the CB to the foot rail and back into the kitchen, or to a side rail (across the head string) with spin and back into the kitchen, or to any place across the head string (perhaps just an inch or less). Or, you could even shoot it into a side pocket or a foot-rail pocket (not the best choice).

But you cannot just tap the CB in the kitchen or (horrors) place it behind one of the jaws of a corner pocket and tap it there, leaving your opponent corner hooked. Doing such things intentionally would be unsportsmanlike conduct.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
AtLarge
AzB Gold Member
AtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 9,266
vCash: 500
iTrader: 76 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2008
   
03-17-2018, 02:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkle84 View Post
Yes, you have to shoot across the headstring. If not it would be an unsportsmanlike conduct foul ( I think). However, there is no such thing as BIH in straight pool. Not under any circumstance.
But, as you know, BIH in 14.1 means behind the head string. Perhaps that's what the person meant who said that to the OP.

Last edited by AtLarge; 03-17-2018 at 03:04 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
elvicash
AzB Silver Member
elvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond reputeelvicash has a reputation beyond repute
 
elvicash's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,431
vCash: 87
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
   
03-30-2018, 02:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtLarge View Post
But, as you know, BIH in 14.1 means behind the head string. Perhaps that's what the person meant who said that to the OP.
Exactly right


Hi Runs 14.1-52 (age+3) 9B-5 8B-3
Straight Lock / Five Cents / Kingfish / Fontaine

True Racks Available Now -- www.thetruerack.com
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Saturated Fats
AzB Silver Member
Saturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond reputeSaturated Fats has a reputation beyond repute
 
Saturated Fats's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 479
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tampa Bay, Florida
   
03-31-2018, 07:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDeal52 View Post
.... Someone said it was a rule but I have never found it....I asked them to Show Me the rule. They were unable to...
Makes you wonder where they were looking doesn't it?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 13,723
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
03-31-2018, 07:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDeal52 View Post
... Since I am a Missouri born fellow I asked them to Show Me the rule. They were unable to; the director said a former player in our league said if you did that it was a ball in hand foul.

I don't think there is any such rule but am willing to be enlightened.

What do you folks say?
I think it would be good for you to print off a copy of the World Standardized Rules (from the WPA website):

http://wpapool.com/wp-content/upload...d-spelling.pdf

and give them to the people who run your league. If you want to get ahead of the game, read the rules before you give them the copy.

There are some situations that are covered in the "Regulations" rather than the rules, so you probably should look at those, too.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.