saddned at my loss of passion for this sport

Shermanscs

Steve sherman
Silver Member
I have been playing pool my whole life. I used to love the sport more than life itself. I used to get excitedly nervous before competing, whether in tournaments or just league play. I was an avid student of the game and have just about every instructional book made, many instructional videos and was even an accu-stats video of the month member. I have attended pool clinics and have fantastic mentors / teachers that I enjoyed taking lessons from periodically. While never a superstar, I played as a c+ player, but my game steadily improved over the years and I was a tough competitor. I own a pool table and I enjoyed and looked forward to regularly practicing, especially in anticipation of an upcoming tournament, but equally just to knock a few balls around with friends and family. As for the pros, I idolized them as if a kid, seeking them out for autographs at tournaments, hanging my signed copies of billiards digest on the walls of my make-shift pool room in my basement.

The point of my post is that all of a sudden, like a light switch, I have lost my passion for the game and it saddens me a great deal. But passion is a strange thing. You can't "will it" to be there. It's either there or its not. I no longer look forward to league nights, played half heartedly in a few tournaments recently, and pretty much stopped reading & practicing. Somehow the sport is still special for me, but is only a shadow of it's former self of what it used to be and mean for me.

Interested if any of you have experienced this, and my hope is, you will tell me how you managed to recapture the magic and passion for the game - something I am desperate for.

Steve

pwd72s

recreational banger
Silver Member
Not with pool...but with Porsches. Had 4 of them over a period of 40 years...then one day, for various reasons...poof! Passion gone.