Help getting started

warfdiesel

Getting Better
Silver Member
I am thinking of trying to learn about the cue building process. Thought about buying a lathe that I could set up and start tinkering with some old dufferin cues I have laying around in the basement.

Was wondering what kind of money it would cost to get a basic setup that would let me do something like that. Any help would be awesome. I am a complete noob. If this is the wrong section for this just let me know and I will move it. Thanks for any help

Michael Webb

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I am thinking of trying to learn about the cue building process. Thought about buying a lathe that I could set up and start tinkering with some old dufferin cues I have laying around in the basement.

Was wondering what kind of money it would cost to get a basic setup that would let me do something like that. Any help would be awesome. I am a complete noob. If this is the wrong section for this just let me know and I will move it. Thanks for any help

This is more popular than you think. THE PROPER WAY IS.
Learn how to use the machine you buy first. Then learn how to repair cues. If you have common sence, that will help teach you how to start building. And how to start asking certain questions to advance your knowledge.

Reactions: JC

Kim Bye

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Be prepared to part with a substansial amount of $$
The lathe in it self is only part of the cost, almost everything you need for cue building and reparing is speciality items, and the higher your ambition, the more money it will cost.

Mikiemopa

pechauer dealer
Silver Member
Mike gave a great response as usual. But it's a fun hobby if you have time, lots of extra cash, bc your going to mess up alot, and lots of patients. But I truly enjoy it when I have the time

desi2960

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
it's fun