Practice Shaft vs Play Shaft

VVP

Registered
Can practicing with an 11.5 mm shaft and playing 12.75 mm shaft hurt your play? I understand that the smaller diameter shaft can introduce more spin in your shots and maybe mess up your “muscle memory.” I have both dimensions in Predator shafts but I am fairly new at pool so would appreciate any comments.

HawaiianEye

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I would practice with my playing shaft.

I don't have such a thing as a practicing shaft.

Hits 'em Hard

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Can practicing with an 11.5 mm shaft and playing 12.75 mm shaft hurt your play? I understand that the smaller diameter shaft can introduce more spin in your shots and maybe mess up your “muscle memory.” I have both dimensions in Predator shafts but I am fairly new at pool so would appreciate any comments.

Is there a single sport where somebodies practice equipment is different than their competition equipment? No. They use devices to cause extra strain/effort, but the core objects are the same. Tiger doesn’t practice with a different set of clubs. Formula1 doesn’t have practice cars with different mods. Footballs are the same for practice and competition for the NFL, NCAA, and so on. Stop over thinking shit. You put a ball in the hole in practice the same way you do in competition.

LHP5

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Honestly feel this could only hurt you in the long run. All shafts will play differently. You’d practice and get used to its characteristics only to switch come game time? Why?

CocoboloCowboy

Cowboys are my hero's
Silver Member
Maybe I am stupid by why would you practice with something other then the Cue you play with? Even two shafts the same diameter, same Tip, same Weight play a little different. Because each piece of wood it different. Wood is not a man made product like a STEEL ROD.

Island Drive

Otto/Dads College Roommate/Cleveland Browns
Silver Member