Leasing commercial space for private billiards club

1pktfool

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi all. I'm interested in hearing from people who have successfully leased commercial space for use as a private billiards club. Is there anything special you have to do to do this? Any common roadblocks or problems one should expect to run into? I'm a total newbie on this subject, so any and all advice is welcome. Thanks.

randyg

www.randygpool.com
Silver Member
Just some thing to consider: Bathrooms, snacks, after hours, fire hazards & escapes, Certificate of Occupancy........
SPF=randyg

1pktfool

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Right, but this would be for a very small private club, like 1-3 tables. Something like $1000/month rent, breaking down to $60/month for about 20 members to cover rent and overhead. I would imagine the 2 most difficult issues would be finding the space to rent and then finding loyal trustworthy members to pay dues every month, but it'd be great to hear from people that know more about doing something like this (either successfully or not) firsthand.

JustPlay

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I would guess you are going to offer other activities, like "private" card games as well.....

Fatboy

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
if you can rent a climate controlled wearhouse, if its not to far out of the way, you get far less attention.

putting a private club in a retail area makes no sence what so ever, your paying extra $$$ for visability you dont want, more code enforcement BS. it will be problematic from day one,

In a good climate controlled wherahouse you can find one with a shower, office, apt built inside it, for your personal use as well. That wont ever happen in a strip center,