Table for practice

medallio

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Need opinions. I just want to practice and do drills so I obviously need a table. Will ANY level table work? Even a Sears table? I'm not looking for any particular playing conditions per se. Just want to practice shots and cue ball control. Any opinions or thoughts?

Kimmo H.

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I am by no means an expert in pool, but IMHO any table can be used for practice. As long it has a stone slate and a decent felt.
I have a Acon barbox ($800, new :grin:) for practice use at home, it does the job just fine for me.
It ain't nowhere as good as Diamonds or Gold Crowns, but it has helped my game a lot, it jumps well and the balls roll straight when set up well :embarrassed2:

I'll get a Simonis 760 / 860hr tournament blue on it when the old felt is done, but as for now it's pretty good to play on :)

bdorman

Dead money
Silver Member
I think your biggest problems will be 1) cushions and 2) adapting to a real table.

"Cue ball control" implies the CB hitting a cushion and the "just any" tables are notorious for bad cushions and rails. You might get into bad habits of how you think your CB responds to cushions.

When you play on a good table (Gold Crown, Diamond, etc) it might be difficult to adapt. Installing good cloth like Simonis 860 will help.

That said, any table is better than no table.

Kickin' Chicken

Kick Shot Aficionado
Silver Member
If you are just doing it for enjoyment probably any non-crap table will do.

but consider this:

you can get a good quality barbox like a Valley in the approx $600-$800 range.

or

I've seen old Gold Crowns selling for under $1k.

not sure if these are in your range but it would be hard to beat them.

if you are looking to play competitively, being able to practice on good equipment that is similar to what you expect to play competitively on, would be helpful.

best,
brian kc

SC02GTP

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member