8b rule?
Old
  (#1)
gxman
AzB Silver Member
gxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,584
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Louisiana
   
8b rule? - 11-26-2013, 06:45 PM

So I have 2 solids left. Shot the 3-ball in left corner, the cb swung around and knocked in the 4-ball that was hanging near the side-pocket. I then shot in the 8-ball and won.

So after that game, the guy said, "next time, you have to call the combo". I said, what combo? I shot my object ball and it went in. He didnt say anything after and continued to rack.

We were playing call pockets, BIH anywhere on fouls, and open table after the break.

I think the guy was just shaken up that I was beating him.

Am I right or wrong here?

Thanks.

Last edited by gxman; 11-26-2013 at 06:54 PM.
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
nelson
AzB Silver Member
nelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond reputenelson has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 70
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2011
   
11-26-2013, 07:14 PM

u are right
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kaylaemarx
AzB Silver Member
kaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond reputekaylaemarx has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 189
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Anaheim
   
01-18-2014, 09:17 PM

The 8-ball game is all about positioning. Therefore, you are better off setting the cue ball at an angle to position your ball rather than stressing on the straight and shorter path.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Ralph Kramden
BOOM!.. ZOOM!.. MOON!
Ralph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond reputeRalph Kramden has a reputation beyond repute
 
Ralph Kramden's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,025
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Land of the free.. Only because of the brave
   
01-19-2014, 06:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gxman View Post
So I have 2 solids left. Shot the 3-ball in left corner, the cb swung around and knocked in the 4-ball that was hanging near the side-pocket. I then shot in the 8-ball and won.

So after that game, the guy said, "next time, you have to call the combo". I said, what combo? I shot my object ball and it went in. He didnt say anything after and continued to rack.

We were playing call pockets, BIH anywhere on fouls, and open table after the break.

I think the guy was just shaken up that I was beating him.

Am I right or wrong here?

Thanks.
You are right gxman....... I have no idea what kaylaemarx is suggesting to your question.
I don't think that shot should even be called a combo. It would be a CB carom off the OB.
If you called the 3.... the 4 ball is a legal ball, unless you are playing some different rules.


GAMES... http://sites.google.com/site/poolandbilliard

Recognize a 1/2 ball 30 degree cut, and the 1/8 ball angles.
Paralysis by aiming analysis happens by thinking too much.

To play at top speed.. You must own the stop shot line.

Last edited by Ralph Kramden; 01-19-2014 at 06:30 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
johnhardy
AzB Bronze Member
johnhardy is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2005
   
10-25-2014, 08:58 AM

What you did was NOT a combination shot. You shot your ball and it went into the obvious or called pocket. Legal shot. The fact that the cue ball continued moving and sank another ball is both legal and irrelevant.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.