2 balls frozen to cue ball hit call
Old
  (#1)
PoolFool
Judge me by my size do u?
PoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond reputePoolFool has a reputation beyond repute
 
PoolFool's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 216
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Flushing, NY
   
2 balls frozen to cue ball hit call - 02-14-2017, 09:34 PM

This situation just occurred in a game of 9 ball. Does any one know if it is considered an illegal hit to shoot this shot on the path povided? Both balls are frozen to the cue ball and it will result in a guaranteed split hit. Some argue that the 9 takes off faster which means you must hit it fuller and is an illegal hit, others are stating it's a split hit and makes no differences.

Are there any referees out there or bca certified instructors who may know what the proper ruling here is?
Attached Images
 


Judge me by my size do you?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Renegade_56
R56 Custom Cues
Renegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Renegade_56's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,852
vCash: 500
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Bern, NC
   
02-15-2017, 03:41 AM

Well if you can't prove it's illegal. then you can't prove it ain't, so tie goes to the runner I would think.


Renegade_56

If winning is so easy why aren't the losers doing it?

R56 Custom Cues on Facebook
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Double-Dave
Developing cue-addict
Double-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond reputeDouble-Dave has a reputation beyond repute
 
Double-Dave's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,385
vCash: 5795
iTrader: 104 / 100%
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
   
02-15-2017, 03:53 AM

If they lay exactly as you suggest then you will graze the 3 (the 3 will move) and this is a legal shot.

If the 3 does not move it is a foul.
If you make an obvious push shot or double hit it is also a foul (these are quite hard to judge for a ref so in most cases a foul will not be called).


Playing cue: Cuechanger cocobolo
Break + jump cue: Cuechanger
Case: Sterling wave 4x8
League: NPB Superleague + Top Pool League TPL1 + DBA Topleague
Hours play: 8-10 per week

www.doubledavecues.com
www.budgetstukadoor.nl
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.