Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Main Forum
Reload this Page Quick question about a scenario
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Quick question about a scenario
Old
  (#1)
7forlife
AzB Silver Member
7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,473
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2010
   
Quick question about a scenario - 10-15-2019, 03:13 PM

Ok, is there a standard rule (for the most part) or does this seem like something that has to be discussed pre-match?

In a 9 ball game where a ball is part of the spot/handicap lets say you're giving the 7 (), your opponent sees an opportunity to make the hanging 7 ball while shooting at the 6 ball, they then fluke the 6 ball in another pocket other than the one initially intended but also fails to make the 7 ball. Do they lose their turn or gets to continue shooting?


Why did you spend the money on a Predator shaft, your problem is aiming not deflection

The less you BET, the more you lose when you WIN

I'm sorry to tell you but your problem was not bad rolls, it was bad decisions
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
TheMarsMan
Nice Gun!
TheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond reputeTheMarsMan has a reputation beyond repute
 
TheMarsMan's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,420
vCash: 1225
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oakland, MI
   
10-15-2019, 03:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7forlife View Post
Ok, is there a standard rule (for the most part) or does this seem like something that has to be discussed pre-match?

In a 9 ball game where a ball is part of the spot/handicap lets say you're giving the 7 (), your opponent sees an opportunity to make the hanging 7 ball while shooting at the 6 ball, they then fluke the 6 ball in another pocket other than the one initially intended but also fails to make the 7 ball. Do they lose their turn or gets to continue shooting?
They would continue shooting, very rarely have I ever seen call pocket nine ball.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
crazysnake
AzB Silver Member
crazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond reputecrazysnake has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 275
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2008
   
10-15-2019, 03:38 PM

Nine ball is not a call pocket game, unless you've specified before hand.

Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
7forlife
AzB Silver Member
7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,473
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2010
   
10-15-2019, 03:46 PM

I get that the general rule of 9 ball is not "call pocket" and sometimes "calling the 9' and "wild 9" is established beforehand but in this scenario it's a persons money ball. Could there be some fine print in there where like "oh you didn't make the called ball" could be draft up? Think of it like this, it's a call the 9 game, player shoots at X ball and in the chaos the 9 goes in, clearly it gets spotted but who's turn is it?
Now I'm slightly playing dumb here just to see that there's a mutual consensus.


Why did you spend the money on a Predator shaft, your problem is aiming not deflection

The less you BET, the more you lose when you WIN

I'm sorry to tell you but your problem was not bad rolls, it was bad decisions
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
couldnthinkof01
AzB Silver Member
couldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond reputecouldnthinkof01 has a reputation beyond repute
 
couldnthinkof01's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,338
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2013
   
10-15-2019, 04:01 PM

In your 9 ball spotted scenario the shooter continues.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
michael4
AzB Silver Member
michael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond reputemichael4 has a reputation beyond repute
 
michael4's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 12,776
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: so cal
   
10-15-2019, 04:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7forlife View Post
then fluke the 6 ball in another pocket other than the one initially intended but also fails to make the 7 ball. Do they lose their turn or gets to continue shooting?
the 6 ball never needed to be called, in any situation, so as everyone has already said, shooter continues...(IMHO)
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
cue4me
AzB Silver Member
cue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond reputecue4me has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 157
vCash: 500
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Exton, PA
   
10-15-2019, 05:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7forlife View Post
I get that the general rule of 9 ball is not "call pocket" and sometimes "calling the 9' and "wild 9" is established beforehand but in this scenario it's a persons money ball. Could there be some fine print in there where like "oh you didn't make the called ball" could be draft up? Think of it like this, it's a call the 9 game, player shoots at X ball and in the chaos the 9 goes in, clearly it gets spotted but who's turn is it?
Now I'm slightly playing dumb here just to see that there's a mutual consensus.
The way I've seen this played is if you are calling the 9-ball and it goes in the wrong pocket it spots. If it is the only ball made on that shot the other player shoots from where the cue ball lies. If another ball is made on the same shot as the incorrectly called 9-ball the player making the 9-ball continues to shoot after the 9-ball is spotted.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
JessEm
AzB Silver Member
JessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond reputeJessEm has a reputation beyond repute
 
JessEm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 336
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: MinneSNOWta
   
10-15-2019, 05:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael4 View Post
the 6 ball never needed to be called, in any situation, so as everyone has already said, shooter continues...(IMHO)
This is how our weekly tournament plays it.


Tad Lofstrom custom
Samsara Jump/Break
vintage Brunswick by Schmelke
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
cubswin
Just call me Joe...
cubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond reputecubswin has a reputation beyond repute
 
cubswin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,210
vCash: 500
iTrader: 24 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indiana
   
10-15-2019, 08:18 PM

Sounds like you need more than the 7.


""It's even, but it ain't settled. Let's settle it." Fast Eddie
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
alphadog
AzB Silver Member
alphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond repute
 
alphadog's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,570
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2007
   
10-15-2019, 08:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubswin View Post
Sounds like you need more than the 7.
Yeah its what he asking for; A explanation


A bull without horns is still dangerous.

Law of logical arguement-Anything is possible when you dont know what you are talking about.

  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
alphadog
AzB Silver Member
alphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond reputealphadog has a reputation beyond repute
 
alphadog's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,570
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2007
   
10-15-2019, 08:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7forlife View Post
I get that the general rule of 9 ball is not "call pocket" and sometimes "calling the 9' and "wild 9" is established beforehand but in this scenario it's a persons money ball. .....
Now I'm slightly playing dumb here just to see that there's a mutual consensus.
Remember the line from Tropic Thunder?
"Never go full retard".


A bull without horns is still dangerous.

Law of logical arguement-Anything is possible when you dont know what you are talking about.

  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,816
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
10-15-2019, 08:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7forlife View Post
Ok, is there a standard rule (for the most part) or does this seem like something that has to be discussed pre-match?

In a 9 ball game where a ball is part of the spot/handicap lets say you're giving the 7 (), your opponent sees an opportunity to make the hanging 7 ball while shooting at the 6 ball, they then fluke the 6 ball in another pocket other than the one initially intended but also fails to make the 7 ball. Do they lose their turn or gets to continue shooting?
You don't specify whether the winning 7 is "wild" or "called". That has to be specified before the game starts.

If a winning ball is "wild" you further need to make sure whether it counts on the break.

If a winning ball is "called", then you need to specify what happens if you call it but something else goes in instead. You also need to decide whether it is spotted if made in an uncalled pocket by the spottee.

I think there is no absolutely standard set of rules for spotted balls at nine ball.

It's easier to spot games on the wire and have both players use the same (standard) rules, but sometimes the fish won't bite for that.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
iusedtoberich
AzB Silver Member

iusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11,362
vCash: 1470
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2004
   
10-15-2019, 08:50 PM

To further complicate this, the scenario you described you are the player getting the 7 ball, and your opponent made the 7.

In the Philly area where I'm from we usually played: call the spotted money ball only, 9 is wild for both players, and money ball spots on the break if made by either player, and if made by the spotted player it spots and he does not win. We almost never, ever, played wild spotted money ball.

Now, when playing this way, every ball is wild, except the spotted money ball. If you are the player getting the spot, shit in your money ball (and no other ball), you keep shooting, but you don't win, and your money ball stays down.

If you are the player giving the spot, you don't call ANY ball at any time. So if you have a chance to shit in your opponents money ball, by all means go for it if you want. You just increased your odds of winning by taking the spotted ball off the table. Under no circumstance is this called.

I moved to Atlanta 10 years ago, and now go to Philly for Xmas vacation. My last trip up, it was all new players. And they all play call every shot in 9 ball. I wanted to strangle them all. The game makes zero sense that way, especially when giving or getting spots. Its fukking stupid. End rant.

In contrast, playing in Atlanta, EVERTHING is wild in 9 ball, even the spotted money ball, and even on the break it counts as a win.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
7forlife
AzB Silver Member
7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute7forlife has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,473
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2010
   
10-15-2019, 11:54 PM

Thanks to those of you who chimed in confirming what I thought was the standard.
And those of you who saw it fit to comment with no actual valid input even going as far as to say that I was the one getting the spot when I specifically said that it was being given well although fun comments are just that "fun at times" you manage to show the down side of the forum so congrats to you on that one.
That's pretty much it guys, thanks again, I'll be sharing this with my the individual who fell victim to the latter


Why did you spend the money on a Predator shaft, your problem is aiming not deflection

The less you BET, the more you lose when you WIN

I'm sorry to tell you but your problem was not bad rolls, it was bad decisions
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,811
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
10-16-2019, 10:04 AM

This is a pretty common scenario, odd that the player knew enough about playing with a spot but not how the general rules of 9 balls are. I am guessing the opponent was trying to weasel out of having the guy keep shooting LOL

I run a weekly tournament with a called 9 rule. No other ball is called. I've never seen any other ball called (unless you actually state you are playing called pocket), even if you fail to make a money ball that has to be called. Any ball you make should count, except the money ball. If a player in my event makes the 9 in the wrong pocket, and it's the only ball they made, they loose their turn. If they crap in any ball during any shot, they keep shooting no matter what happens with that money ball, they either win if it's made, or keep shooting if it's not.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.