Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Main Forum
Reload this Page Rules question BCA 8 ball league
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Rules question BCA 8 ball league
Old
  (#1)
Kevin Lindstrom
14.1 Addict
Kevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Lindstrom has a reputation beyond repute
 
Kevin Lindstrom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,481
vCash: 6237
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: PA
   
Rules question BCA 8 ball league - 10-16-2019, 10:26 AM

After the opening break and the table is still open. If you attempt to make a called ball and accidentally hit the 8 ball first. Is that a foul and the incoming player gets ball in hand? If not how is this situation handled?

Thanks

Kevin


SCREW IT LETS RIDE
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Patrick Johnson
Fish of the Day
Patrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
 
Patrick Johnson's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 20,352
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2007
   
10-16-2019, 10:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Lindstrom View Post
After the opening break and the table is still open. If you attempt to make a called ball and accidentally hit the 8 ball first. Is that a foul and the incoming player gets ball in hand? If not how is this situation handled?

Thanks

Kevin
https://cdn.ymaws.com/bca-pool.com/r...anuary2008.pdf

6.2 Wrong Ball First; The first ball contacted by the cue ball on each shot must belong to the shooter’s group, except when the table is open.

pj
chgo
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BRussell
AzB Silver Member
BRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond reputeBRussell has a reputation beyond repute
 
BRussell's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,652
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Apr 2013
   
10-16-2019, 10:58 AM

It's a foul according to BCA pool league rules (pdf file).

Quote:
2-5 Table Open After the Break
The table is always open on the shot after the break and remains open until groups are established. When the table is open, all object balls except the 8-ball are legal object balls. For combination shots, a ball of one group may be contacted first to pocket a ball of the other group. The 8-ball may be part of such a combination if it is not the first ball contacted by the cue ball.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Patrick Johnson
Fish of the Day
Patrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
 
Patrick Johnson's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 20,352
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2007
   
10-16-2019, 11:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRussell View Post
It's a foul according to BCA pool league rules (pdf file).
Thanks. That clarifies the rule I posted.

pj
chgo
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
goettlicher
AzB Silver Member
goettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond repute
 
goettlicher's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 334
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2006
   
10-16-2019, 02:37 PM

It's a FOUL according to BCA/WPA.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,811
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
10-17-2019, 06:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Lindstrom View Post
After the opening break and the table is still open. If you attempt to make a called ball and accidentally hit the 8 ball first. Is that a foul and the incoming player gets ball in hand? If not how is this situation handled?

Thanks

Kevin
Is there ANY rule-set (outside of the no rules bar rules) where hitting the 8 first is not a foul? I can't think of any, even with an open table since the 8 is never a "neutral" ball. You can use it in the middle of a combo but not hit it first.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Tjteeple
AzB Bronze Member
Tjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond reputeTjteeple has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Sep 2018
   
10-17-2019, 06:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hang-the-9 View Post
Is there ANY rule-set (outside of the no rules bar rules) where hitting the 8 first is not a foul? I can't think of any, even with an open table since the 8 is never a "neutral" ball. You can use it in the middle of a combo but not hit it first.
VNEA allows hitting the 8 ball first on an open table. http://www.vnea.com/8-ball-rules.aspx:

"C. OPEN TABLE

The table is “open” when the choice of groups (stripes or solids) has not yet been determined. When the table is open, it is legal to hit a solid first to make a stripe or vice versa. Note: The table is always open immediately after the break shot. When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. On an open table, all pocketed balls remain pocketed. The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups. THE TABLE IS ALWAYS OPEN IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE BREAK SHOT. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot."
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
goettlicher
AzB Silver Member
goettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond reputegoettlicher has a reputation beyond repute
 
goettlicher's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 334
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2006
   
10-17-2019, 07:22 AM

The VNEA allows you to strike the 8-ball first on a open table.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.