Hypothetical 8 Ball Question
Old
  (#1)
Seaspook
Has-Been
Seaspook is on a distinguished road
 
Seaspook's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Arlington VA
   
Hypothetical 8 Ball Question - 05-03-2019, 03:21 PM

Today, when shooting eightball with some friends....

Two solids fell on the break... and two more solids were subsequently potted with fouls ....resulting table now still open..... and only 3 solids left.

We jokingly asked...What would happen if all the solids were cleared and still table open..... could we call and shoot the eight ?

The rule book says that you must clear your group before you shoot the eight.... so i guess “ No”

But since we are chasing rainbows here......
What if all the solids we cleared, table open, opponent claims stripes....can I shoot the eight.???


Shooter: Sugartree , Larry Vigus
OB Break,
JB Rugged Case
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,641
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
05-07-2019, 07:42 AM

I think that in this case, you can actually shoot the 8 without making another ball.

I am not even sure this exact thing is in the rule books but do remember there being some posts about it.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,169
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-07-2019, 09:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seaspook View Post
... But since we are chasing rainbows here......
What if all the solids we cleared, table open, opponent claims stripes....can I shoot the eight.???
I've seen a double rainbow (two concentric rainbows) but never a triple. I wonder if that's possible.

But to answer your question, the WPA rules do not cover this case. The BCAPL rules, which tend to cover more corner cases and have explanations/interpretations of the rules, say:
2. If all balls of either group are pocketed on the break or illegally pocketed before groups are established, either player may legally shoot the 8-ball during their inning. You win the game if you legally pocket the 8-ball on such a shot.
But there is yet another corner case here. Suppose the solids are gone and you call the eight and shoot a stripe-eight combo to pocket the eight. Is that a legal shot? Remember, mixed-group combos are allowed on an open table as long as the eight is not struck first.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
hurricane145
AzB Silver Member
hurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hurricane145's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 59
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2012
   
05-07-2019, 05:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post

But there is yet another corner case here. Suppose the solids are gone and you call the eight and shoot a stripe-eight combo to pocket the eight. Is that a legal shot? Remember, mixed-group combos are allowed on an open table as long as the eight is not struck first.
I go with no. Not a legally pocketed 8 ball. By shooting at the strip ball first you are either implying (whether you want to or not) that you are taking the stripes regardless of calling the 8 ball or not or just plain fouling the 8 ball shot.

If a player breaks and happens to drop ALL the solids and one stripe (at least) and scratches the table is open. Being no fool, I am taking the solids, calling the 8 ball and shooting it in provide there is any decent shot at it.

If there isn't a decent shot at it, I would try carefully to run out the stripes. In that case, the other player should NEVER have anything of an 8 ball shot if I should miss a shot.
I have more to work with than he does!
Chances are he would let the cue ball get too loose trying to get a hit and scratch on the 8 ball anyway.
Might even be easy to set him up for a 3 consecutive foul loss of game!

Last edited by hurricane145; 05-07-2019 at 05:58 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 339
vCash: 500
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
05-11-2019, 12:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post

But there is yet another corner case here. Suppose the solids are gone and you call the eight and shoot a stripe-eight combo to pocket the eight. Is that a legal shot? Remember, mixed-group combos are allowed on an open table as long as the eight is not struck first.
No... it's a foul at least or loss of game if eight ball is pocketed. You have assumed solids as your group by shooting at (calling) the eight ball. The act of the combo stripe ball-eight ball results in a foul or loss due the fact that you hit your opponents group/ball first.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,169
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-11-2019, 07:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zencues.com View Post
No... it's a foul at least or loss of game if eight ball is pocketed. You have assumed solids as your group by shooting at (calling) the eight ball. The act of the combo stripe ball-eight ball results in a foul or loss due the fact that you hit your opponents group/ball first.
Which rule set are you going by?


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 339
vCash: 500
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
05-11-2019, 12:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
Which rule set are you going by?
I don't think any league rules or even rules in general would make it a legal hit.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,641
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
05-11-2019, 12:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane145 View Post
I go with no. Not a legally pocketed 8 ball. By shooting at the strip ball first you are either implying (whether you want to or not) that you are taking the stripes regardless of calling the 8 ball or not or just plain fouling the 8 ball shot.
But hitting a ball first is not that you are selecting a group, you are just hitting that ball first. You can play safe as a first shot after the break and hit a ball but not nominate that as your group since you did not pocket a ball yet. And since you have not yet picked a group by pocketing anything, all the balls are legally "open".


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
hurricane145
AzB Silver Member
hurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hurricane145's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 59
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2012
   
05-12-2019, 11:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zencues.com View Post
I don't think any league rules or even rules in general would make it a legal hit.
Nether would just using common sense!!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,169
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-12-2019, 06:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane145 View Post
Nether would just using common sense!!
The problem is that there lots of rules that people keep having trouble with even though they are "common sense" to others. It's better to go by what is actually written down. Sometimes the written rules do not cover a situation on the table.

You are allowed to hit a "wrong" ball first when playing a combination on an open table. (BCAPL rules). To some it is common sense that this would also apply to the case where all the stripes are gone and the table is still open.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 339
vCash: 500
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
05-15-2019, 10:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
The problem is that there lots of rules that people keep having trouble with even though they are "common sense" to others. It's better to go by what is actually written down. Sometimes the written rules do not cover a situation on the table.

You are allowed to hit a "wrong" ball first when playing a combination on an open table. (BCAPL rules). To some it is common sense that this would also apply to the case where all the stripes are gone and the table is still open.

Bob, are you saying that the shot is legal?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,169
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-16-2019, 10:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zencues.com View Post
Bob, are you saying that the shot is legal?
No, I'm saying that I don't think the rules (any written rule set I know of) are clear in this particular case. It doesn't much matter because it is a situation that has probably never come up. If it has come up, I imagine the players involved didn't play very well and had no actual rule set in mind.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
hurricane145
AzB Silver Member
hurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hurricane145's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 59
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2012
   
05-17-2019, 11:53 AM

Quote:
I imagine the players involved didn't play very well and had no actual rule set in mind.
And there is the problem. They will learn through the school of hard knocks with any luck if they are all that interested in playing well and knowing what is going on. Just paying their dues like the rest of us did early on.
Of course some will play pool for their whole lives only casually and will always be hackers. Never get any better or learn much of anything about playing pool. Oh well...
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.