HR Burl Girl

junglepixie

AzB (aspiring) Bronze :)
I'm new to AZB and this seems like the logical forum in which to make this post, since sales would likely be to cuemakers vs cue buyers. Although I am not a player, I have been a woodcarver for decades, and I am in awe of all of you -- the superlative skill and engineering that goes into your craft.

As a new CITES-approved importer of old-growth Honduran rosewood burl, I have direct access to the finest ultra-figured eye-burl left on the planet. Exhibition quality Dalbergia stevensonii for your most discriminating high-end clientele. Breathtaking visual properties, 3D phenomenon, with occasional sheen of pure “silk.” Naturally cured in the shade 2-10 years. EMC approx. 6-13%. All heartwood (1.5" x 1.5") Turns beautifully, cores well, dense homogenous grain, very stable.

When it comes to burl, size matters. Anything beyond 16” is about as common as a unicorn. :smile: Burl formations occur in (maybe) only one out of 500 rosewood trees. And because burls are rounded outgrowths, not part of the linear trunk itself, they’re naturally limited in dimension. Burls can be the size of a softball, basketball, or in extreme case, a beachball. A burl large enough to accommodate a 12"-15” forearm in Honduran rosewood is a world-class find, and Mother Nature isn’t making any more.

Since first shipment of cue stock in mid-Feb, sales have been surprising. Only three forearms, one handle-build, and two butt sleeves left. Please stay tuned for postings & pix on these pieces. (And since I don’t know cuemaker jargon, please be gentle with me!) Thanks guys…and girls! I hope you'll give me a shot!

~junglepixie, the HR burl girl~

NOTE: Adding to original post in response to request by AZ Admin to include links to website & contact info. (Sorry. My bad. New to this format, but I do know my wood!) Meanwhile, response has been overwhelming. Will do my best to respond to all outstanding requests on Monday, June 11th.