Bees wax pushing up in seams

budonahog

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Had my table set up about 3 months ago. Noticed awhile back there was one spot pushing up but really didn't think much of it. Couple days ago I realized it is across the whole seam on both ends. Doesn't feel like the slates popped.
Any idea why this may have happened and do I need to remove the felt to fix this?

pocket

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
**I'M NOT A MECHANIC**

Had a table installed in my garage in Southern California. During the summer I noticed that the wax had pushed up at the slate joints. You could hear it when a ball rolled over it.

The mechanic came out, removed the rails, popped staples on the cloth near where the seams were and scraped the wax under the cloth. Then re stapled and reassembled.

PoolTable911

AdvancedBilliardSolutions
Silver Member
Had my table set up about 3 months ago. Noticed awhile back there was one spot pushing up but really didn't think much of it. Couple days ago I realized it is across the whole seam on both ends. Doesn't feel like the slates popped.
Any idea why this may have happened and do I need to remove the felt to fix this?

Were the seams glued before wax?

realkingcobra

Silver Member

That's caused by the frame shrinking adjusting to the room its installed in. 1) slates were not pulled tight together then superglued to keep the slates together first, then the seam waxed. 2) slates are screwed to the frame, slight gaped at the seams, not superglued, frame shrinks because its drying out, as the frame shrinks, it pulls the slates together, as that happens, the wax down in the seam gets squeezed out of the seam upward above the surface of the seam.

You can take a deep well socket from a tool kit, roll it up and down along the seam like a steam roller, that'll cause the wax to flatten out across the seam.

budonahog

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member