***STICKY? "The Final Rule" Ivory***

Billiardbills

Billiard Bill
Silver Member
Rating - 100%
144   0   0
Can someone make a "sticky" or pinned post at the top regarding "The Final Rule" about Ivory?

I'm getting a lot of calls and messages regarding it and I'm sure it would help others sell legally here on AZBilliards. ***I am not a lawyer so please take the time to read the link yourself***

From what I and a few others have taken from the documentation not a whole lot changes IF the cue was made before 7/7/16. THIS IS ONLY IF NOT SELLING/SHIPPING TO CA WA NJ NY. Ivory can't be sold and or shipped to and from those states or even within those 4 states if I read it all correctly.

If made after 7/6/16 it's technically illegal to ship or sell to anyone other than a resident of your state IF NOT IN CA WA NJ NY.

There's a few other considerations like the item can not be more than 200 grams of Ivory (7 some ounces) and the ivory's value can't be more than 50% of the item sold. So it can't be a large piece of Ivory with a booger on it for sale. An Ivory handle cue is most likely going to be cored and even if it had an Ivory butt cap and joint I'm not sure it would be that much Ivory by weight.

ADDED NOTE: I believe Hawaii has been added to the list of not to sell within or to with items containing ivory. 1/23/2017

Below is the link in PDF from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service regarding "The Final Rule".

https://www.fws.gov/international/pdf/questions-and-answers-african-elephant-4d-final-rule.pdf

Thank you,

Bill Lister
Cell/text- 239.823.0408
PayPal- Billiardbills@gmail.com
www.billiardbills.com
www.facebook.com/billiardbills

Last edited:

jmonche

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Rating - 100%
143   0   1
I am curious as to how individual states can enact laws dictating what's legal and illegal with what the post office (a federal agency, no less) transports and to where it delivers.

Last edited:

Billiardbills

Billiard Bill
Silver Member