About time

jay helfert

Shoot Pool, not people
Gold Member
Silver Member
For me to quit directing tournaments. I spoke with Pat Fleming sometime ago and will not be going back to the U.S. Open, unless there is an emergency of some kind. I also do not plan to go to DCC and direct the Bigfoot event again. I just don't want to work the long days anymore and feel it's time for a younger generation to take over for guys like me and Kenny Shuman and Bill Stock. We are all around 70 years old. I have been running events for well over thirty years and that's enough for me. Kenny will only be working the TV table at the Open this year.

I do plan to continue doing commentary when asked and write the occasional piece for Billiards Digest and will also endeavor to give back to the game that has been so good to me. Things like the Robles Sportsmanship Award and the BEF Foundation are high on my list, as well as up and coming young players who may need help from time to time. I want to enjoy whatever time I have left.

I love meeting fellow AZers when we cross paths and still want to make that one last road trip some day. Don't worry, you can't keep me off of AZ Billiards! :smile:

Last edited:

jalapus logan

be all. and supports it to
Silver Member
Does this mean that you will be available for some friendly, low stakes one-hole at the DCC this year? I'll tempt you with a free cocktail or two if that suits.

I've missed the DCC the last two years due to work and would love to get a chance to go for a day or two this next one.

Best,

JL

Tooler

AhSheetMaDruars
Silver Member
Come on Jay, spill the beans.

We all know your'e heading for the Poker Tour.:grin:

Dimeball

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member