14.1 league

boradriver

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I started playing in a local 14.1 league about 2 months ago and it really has me frustrated. There are a few good players in the mix but most are C to low B players IMO (myself included) but the way the guy running it is doing the handicaps seems not to be working. His idea is if you win two matches in a row you go up one handicap and if you have 2 loses in a row you go down. It doesn't matter how many innings or who you play. The highest rating is AA and the lowest is C and the matches are races to 125. Know this is the 10th week of a 12 week schedule and I'm 9W-1L and he now has me as a AA which I shouldn't be an A in any game. Now I know people are going to say but your winning and I agree but someone can be rated a B and have a record of 5W-6L and never go down and have no chance to get in the money. I really think he should take into account how many innings,what the final scores are,highrun,safties, and average run not just W/L. To give you an idea of what I mean he has a highrun for the session of 58 and has many runs in the high 40s were as my highrun is 28 and my next is 19 but yet I have to spot him 15 balls now. He is the better player no question he has runs hundreds and runs 60s and 70s in practice regularly. So IMO I shouldn't have to spot him he should be spotting me so his system doesn't work.
Anyone care to share their league setup and handicap system or their thoughts on my rambling above?

Thanks

Bob Jewett

AZB Osmium Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Silver Member
boradriver said:
... Anyone care to share their league setup and handicap system or their thoughts on my rambling above?

Thanks
Sure. See the article "2003-06 Handicapping 14.1 -- instructions for setting up a league" at http://www.sfbilliards.com/articles/BD_articles.html