3D Printed Pool Objects

iusedtoberich

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm working on a 3D model of at CB with a stick striking it, to print, and play around with. Just thought I'd share the process for a conversation topic. CAD I'm using is called Fusion 360. Its legit free for personal use if anyone wants to fool around with it. And there are tons and tons of YouTube videos on how to use it. I've been using it for a few months, and really like it.

Screen Shot 2020-04-12 at 12.17.40 PM (1).jpeg
This is what it looks like. It will be able to sit on the table and be in the correct orientation. Purpose is to see how a perfect draw shot looks on camera at different parts of the table and at different camera angles. Where the shaft is cut off is my bridge length.

Screen Shot 2020-04-12 at 12.18.12 PM (1).jpeg
These are the dimensions used to make it. The tip contact point is at the miscue limit. The bridge length is 13.5", which is my personal bridge length (I measured it). And the elevation of my bridge for a draw shot was 1.25". So I made this model the same. The shaft is measured from a Predator 314-2, and also has the taper (approximated as a straight taper from the end of the ferrule to my bridge hand). Tip is a dime radius.

Screen Shot 2020-04-12 at 12.33.58 PM.jpeg
Closeup of tip-ball details.

Patrick Johnson

Fish of the Day
Silver Member
Your drawing of tip/ball contact shows that you might have a misconception about the miscue limit: it depends on your cue's angle of approach to the CB.

Your "horizontal miscue limit" is theoretically correct (red line halfway from center ball to edge), but the cue must be angled to hit that low (as you show), and with the cue angled like that the actual miscue limit (blue line) is also angled the same amount.

So your diagram shows a tip/ball contact that would almost certainly miscue.

Maybe it's just the drawing and not how you really picture the miscue limit...?

pj
chgo

rich.jpeg

Last edited:

iusedtoberich