Multiple balls in one shot?

chadtrent

Registered
Had a situation come up recently. I was shooting at the black. The blue was hanging in the side pocket. I made the black and the cue ball traveled on and knocked the blue in. What is the ruling on this? We discussed it and as it was just a friendly game we ended up spotting both balls back but I only took the points for the black.

I'm pretty new to snooker. I feel like this is a rule I should know but I can't find the answer anywhere.

Bob Jewett

AZB Osmium Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Had a situation come up recently. I was shooting at the black. The blue was hanging in the side pocket. I made the black and the cue ball traveled on and knocked the blue in. What is the ruling on this? We discussed it and as it was just a friendly game we ended up spotting both balls back but I only took the points for the black.

I'm pretty new to snooker. I feel like this is a rule I should know but I can't find the answer anywhere.
I think this is covered in the official rules:
http://www.wpbsa.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/official-rules-of-the-game.pdf

But to save you some time.... It is almost always a foul to pot two colors (or colours) simultaneously. You should have forfeited 7 points (for the highest color involved) and lost your turn. It is also a foul to pot a red when playing a color. (In snooker, a red is not a color. Strange game.)