Library resource for pool table repair

Ssonerai

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
NYS has a mandate for "maker spaces" in libraries.
I never used the local facility, but know the guy who runs it, and have often donated small amounts of plywood & materials. He has been over to the shop to use my larger machines to break down larger pieces of material so they will fit on the high end/ hobby level/size machines in the library.

Ran into him at a rally at the local drive in theatre and he asked how the wife's pool table was coming along. I said i had got the veneer sorted & stacked for conventional sawing but my jigsaw kept breaking parts (not the blades). So he convinced me to do a drawing and bring the veneers into the library.

He loaded up the drawing and made me fix it on the computer (I have no CAD experience of any kind) so that actually took a couple hours before we even cut a test piece. Besides cleaning up the drawing on the screen, i had to load dimentions and check critical points against what the final product should be. After that, he kind of cued me along and we got all the veneers cut out individually. (Instead of stacked, like conventional inlay).

Back at my shop i cleaned up the parts, glued and taped them up, then 2-plied them onto poplar crossband, just like the originals. The banding blanks were made over a year ago, but only just sawed up for use. There's some errors in this that will jump out at anyone looking, but it's going on the table anyway.

Attachments

• DSC_0011.jpg
    DSC_0011.jpg
    111.8 KB · Views: 353
  • DSC_0013.jpg
    DSC_0013.jpg
    144 KB · Views: 297
  • DSC_0015.jpg
    DSC_0015.jpg
    110.4 KB · Views: 309
  • DSC_0018.jpg
    DSC_0018.jpg
    101 KB · Views: 299
  • DSC_0021.jpg
    DSC_0021.jpg
    188.2 KB · Views: 302
Last edited:

Ssonerai

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Here's the 2-ply cleaned up.