AzBilliards.com  
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
future reuse of table cloth
Old
  (#1)
redwolf88
AzB Bronze Member
redwolf88 is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Feb 2020
   
future reuse of table cloth - 02-11-2020, 09:25 AM

I have a 8' table with a slate bed measuring 51" X 95" .
I ordered new 9' table cloth with dimensions of 60" X 144"
I will have more than enough to do cushions and have more than needed for table bed.

I will be moving to a new home in the next year.

when I install the cloth I will have a over hang on the sides of the table of 2 1/2 in. I do not plan on trimming that . I will have the same over over hang of cloth on the length of the table .

My rational for doing this is to reuse the cloth when I move and the extra cloth will help with the reinstallation.

I will be using a staple gun with 3/8 staples and was considering using a 1 inch spray of 3M "77" around the edges of the slate when I do the install.

I have broken down 4 tables and setup the tables doing the seams and leveling the slates. I am not a pro , but the tables played without any problems.

Just looking for any do's or don'ts particularly on the glue down aspect of the install
  
Reply With Quote
Table
Old
  (#2)
ROB.M
:)
ROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond reputeROB.M has a reputation beyond repute
 
ROB.M's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,585
vCash: 980
iTrader: 83 / 100%
Blog Entries: 7
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: quad cities,IA
   
Table - 02-11-2020, 07:57 PM

Donít do it, cancel your order, if they are sending you 144 inches that means they want you to take the rail cloth from the end grain of the cloth which is a big NO-NO.
Never take rail cloth from end grain. Even Simonis tells you themselfs. See top right of the link. NO RAILS OFF THE ENDS.
Rail cloth always is to be taken from the length as shown.
http://www.simoniscloth.com/media/ma...ttingGuide.pdf

If you need Simonis cut the right way I have plenty pre cut in bed and rails sets.



Rob.M


Couldn't play dead in a cowboy movie'
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Sheldon
dontneednostinkintitle
Sheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond reputeSheldon has a reputation beyond repute
 
Sheldon's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,249
vCash: 500
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sanitarium
   
02-11-2020, 09:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB.M View Post
they want you to take the rail cloth from the end grain of the cloth which is a big NO-NO.
Never take rail cloth from end grain. Even Simonis tells you themselfs. See top right of the link. NO RAILS OFF THE ENDS.
Rail cloth always is to be taken from the length
Do you or anyone else know exactly why this is the case?


Don't Waive Your Rights With Your Flags ~ Sage Francis
  
Reply With Quote
Quantum Mechanics at work
Old
  (#4)
redwolf88
AzB Bronze Member
redwolf88 is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Feb 2020
   
Quantum Mechanics at work - 02-12-2020, 06:59 AM

First time I have heard about not using end cloth for rail coverings !
But then, I do not do this as an avocation. This project is for home use and I
can not fathom how the cue ball contact with a rail ,which would be approx 1 cm or less would be adversely affected. I can now claim that is why I missed that bank shot
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
fastone371
AzB Silver Member
fastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond repute
 
fastone371's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,829
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Theresa, Wisconsin
   
02-12-2020, 08:57 AM

Yeah, what he ^^^^^ said.
Its not that I do not believe you, I most certainly do, my question is why does it matter?? Is it something about the way it stretches?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
trentfromtoledo
8onthebreaktoledo

trentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond reputetrentfromtoledo has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,342
vCash: 500
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toledo, Ohio
   
02-13-2020, 08:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastone371 View Post
Yeah, what he ^^^^^ said.
Its not that I do not believe you, I most certainly do, my question is why does it matter?? Is it something about the way it stretches?
It stretches much further lengthwise than it does widthwise. I hope this solves the confusion.

TFT
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
fastone371
AzB Silver Member
fastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond reputefastone371 has a reputation beyond repute
 
fastone371's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,829
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Theresa, Wisconsin
   
02-14-2020, 08:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentfromtoledo View Post
It stretches much further lengthwise than it does widthwise. I hope this solves the confusion.

TFT
Thank you, thats what I was wondering and what I suspected
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.