Unintentional Scoop
Old
  (#1)
1ab
AzB Silver Member
1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute1ab has a reputation beyond repute
 
1ab's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 219
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lafayette, IN
   
Unintentional Scoop - 10-01-2018, 06:23 AM

Trying to draw a player inadvertently scoops the cue ball off the table and it comes back down, hits one of his balls, and a ball hits the rail. Opponent calls foul... tournament director calls unintentional miscue. Opponent says everyone knows the cue ball hits the tip as well as the ferrule... double hit! Call ended up no foul, directors call..,who’s right?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,417
vCash: 500
iTrader: 12 / 93%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
   
10-09-2018, 04:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ab View Post
Trying to draw a player inadvertently scoops the cue ball off the table and it comes back down, hits one of his balls, and a ball hits the rail. Opponent calls foul... tournament director calls unintentional miscue. Opponent says everyone knows the cue ball hits the tip as well as the ferrule... double hit! Call ended up no foul, directors call..,who’s right?
That can happen without hitting side of ferrule. I'd call no foul unless i was watching the hit and it was clearly a ferrule strike.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
bbb
AzB Gold Member
bbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6,145
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 36 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Mar 2008
   
11-01-2018, 03:36 AM

i recently played in a seniors onepocket tourney
during my first match my opponent miscued trying to draw and scooped the cue ball
the cue ball hit a ball and a ball hit the rail
i called foul for scooping
he said he did not intend to scoop and it was just a miscue and since a ball hit a rail
no foul
i wasnt going to make a big deal about it as he is a very respected player and i was going to lose anyway (he was better but i did win one game... )
afterwards i asked several of the old timers about it
they all agreed with him
since his intent was not to scoop it was just a miscue
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,417
vCash: 500
iTrader: 12 / 93%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
   
11-07-2018, 09:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbb View Post
i recently played in a seniors onepocket tourney
during my first match my opponent miscued trying to draw and scooped the cue ball
the cue ball hit a ball and a ball hit the rail
i called foul for scooping
he said he did not intend to scoop and it was just a miscue and since a ball hit a rail
no foul
i wasnt going to make a big deal about it as he is a very respected player and i was going to lose anyway (he was better but i did win one game... )
afterwards i asked several of the old timers about it
they all agreed with him
since his intent was not to scoop it was just a miscue
If you have a tall, mis-shaped tip its possible to do this without hitting ferrule. This is one shot where even a ref. may not be able to make a clear call. Probably easier(and less contentious) to just call it a mis-cue.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Celophanewrap
Call me Grace
Celophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond reputeCelophanewrap has a reputation beyond repute
 
Celophanewrap's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6,253
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 17 / 100%
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
   
12-03-2018, 05:07 PM

I believe most sets of rules allow for unintentional miscue, it happens.
This is not a foul and as described is a legal hit
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.