Tournament Software

mfinkelstein3

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
I'm looking for help in getting a program to run tournaments on my new laptop. I'm putting on a tournament for juniors this Saturday and would like to keep the brackets on my laptop. I have a portable projector that puts the bracket on the wall as well.

What are some good programs/apps for tournaments? We will be running a double elimination tournament with Boys 18 and under, Girls 18 and under, Boys 14 and under, and Girls 14 and under.

Thanks in advance. I have a Mac laptop and am a computer dinosaur.

Stew_Pidaso

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Challonge is a great one and you can also just post on Facebook and tag Mike Page, and results are easily extracted by them to enter into Fargo. Just need to record the score for each match.

Saturated Fats

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
But be careful...

I'm a recently retired software developer and my advice is whatever you choose, you should probably do it the old fashioned way too - on paper - at least the first tourney or two. Sure it's twice the work, but you don't want to have all the airline seats occupied by paying passengers when you are on your first solo flight.

kross

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have found it extremely difficult to do an online and paper bracket concurrently. The main reason is, the online sites like Challonge don't match the paper brackets. They move people over to the loser's side in a different way than most paper brackets.

I second (third?) the recommendation for Challonge. And once FargoRate knows you run tournaments that you want entered into FargoRate, they will automatically every once in a while check your username on Challonge and look for new tournaments, and enter the results for you without you having to ask.

I believe the budtour.com online brackets also integrate into FargoRate, so that would be another option.

cubswin

Just call me Joe...
Silver Member