Bar Box, 8', 9' and 8-Ball WC

Avathar

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi Everybody!

I just read a bit about the lovely tournament SvB took part and got a bit confused...

Lets place a short bit of my own history in here, before I ask my questions...

I remember that in two pubs of my hometown they had coin tables, but cannot tell anything about the size, since I was just in my teens and could not have cared less... I just loved that I was one of the better bangers in the pub ;)

When I started playing pool on the club side of the world, I realized, that good equipment seemed to be something much cooler, than the table in the bar, where I knew I had to aim to overcome the hanging table...

Now to the point. I have seen many pool halls in Germany (and Austria) and never found any 8' table and do not remember really any coin tables of smaller sizes.

In 2007 I came to Austin, Tx for the first time and for the first time ever have seen an 8' table! And even more, most places were proud to have 1 or 2 9 footers... Anyhow, I ran my more than 25 balls 3 times of 5 breaks in my first try (before that I never had run more than 16 balls EVER!) and managed 2 break and runs in 8-ball, before the 9 footer was available again and I changed tables...

So if a pretty bad player like me can find making balls that easy, what is the point for the pros to spend time with such a gamble (I mean for them it must be as efficient to find the best players as tossing a coin anyhow?) and all that instead of playing WC 8-Ball???

Oh, do I understnad right, that if you guys talk about "bar box" you talk about smaller sized tables (7') with big white ball and such??

Avathar

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
WellI guess, my point was not made too clear...

I prefer shooting on a nine footer over the smaller sized tables at any time and rather spend the time needed in training, to improve my stroke ntil it works (and it changed by far since then of course).